We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great place to have a beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap's on the Water

Cap's on the Water
Ranked #26 of 571 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a great place to have a beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Caps on the water is always great! The atmosphere is perfect for a sunny day to sit on the patio and have a beer. Check out the oysters they are awesome, especially the rockafeller. I have never had any service issues here and always enjoy my time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    430
    133
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food & outstanding ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row because of the service, the surroundings, and the food! The value is great. We sat on the deck and watched boats, etc. Ask to sit outside on the water! This place definitely gets an A+!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky47274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My family ate here and were impressed with the pleasant atmosphere. Our table overlooked the river. For our first night at St. Augustine, the scenery was wonderful. I had the salmon and enjoyed it. My husband had the sampler platter and was disappointed. He enjoyed the shrimp but not the crabcakes or the breaded fish. I tasted them as well and thought the crabcakes could have used a separate sauce, like dill sauce or melted butter. The crabcakes did not have a lot of breaded filling, which was good.

Bottom line, if you want decent seafood with a great atmosphere, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatrvler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful views! Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here twice while on vacation. Right on the water with a beautiful view! Food was amazing both times!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

After waiting 15 minutes for a server We finally got our first round of drinks. We then asked for a Miami vice. Which for those non bartenders are half pina colada and half strawberry daiquiri They said they were out so then I asked if they had a strawberry daiquiri and server responded yes and followed by do you have a piña colada and the server again said yes So I was like then you can do a Miami vice She then brought back a piña colada with strawberry syrup on the bottom. It was not customer oriented and the bartender was extremely lazy. As a local and a boat owner. We will not be coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap's on the Water also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Cap's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing