We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta go here”
Review of Cap's on the Water

Cap's on the Water
Ranked #30 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You gotta go here”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went prime dinner time 6p, with our 2 families and 5 small kids combined. These people were awesome! Got the kids' food out quickly, apps out fast, and drinks served right up. Us girls tried their drink of the week, which was this fruity deliciousness. The boys, a local brew. The appetizers were the stars of the show though. Lobster fritters which was more like fried lobster Mac n cheese, and soooo delicious and creamy. Spicy shrimp to die for. And the ravioli app was hard to stop eating! The men got stuffed flounder and it was incredible. Like, over-the-top yummy. Very rich. I ordered blackened grouper and it was prefect. Nice spice, perfectly cooked. I was not a fan of the sundried tomato orzo. It seemed to have been sitting out or leftover, as it was dry and oily all at the same time. But the other girl in our party got the mushroom orzo and loved it. We will go back again and again to this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank heatherdj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    447
    138
    65
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
519 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We dined at Caps tonight on our way back from St. Augustine. I loved the remote location off the main road and noticed that the parking lot was already packed at 4:15. When we left, there was a valet set up and functioning. It is right on the water and seafood is king. You can get it prepared in a variety of ways. They serve it with a potato strudel which is a puff pastry potato dish with cheese and is FILLING. I had a very interesting salad with back eyed peas, arugula, and onion. The grouper was awesome and my wife's trigger fish was great as well. The only drawback was that it was mostly outside and that meant legal smoking so we were forced to come inside and eat by ourselves. It forced the poor waitress to come in to the room periodically to check on us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Jacksonville!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Try to come here whenever close. Great atmosphere and the best fresh fish around!!! Take a right at the castle!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I visited St Augustine for the first time for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were looking for a romantic dinner spot and were recommended to Caps by the valet at the hotel. The valet parking situation was crazy busy, but regardless the two guys working did a great job of keeping things moving. We had an hour wait, but found a spot at the bar for some cool drinks an a place to people watch and chat. Once we got seated, we were in perfect time to watch the sunset over the bay. The food was great and our server was top notch. Would go there again should we get back to the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside dining”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

They have a HUGE deck outside overlooking the water. There are old oak trees covered in moss everywhere, and growing through the deck. The view was very peaceful.
The place was extremely crowded on a Friday night. Our wait for a table was over an hour. Fortunately we found seats at the bar.
The food and table service were good. The portions were big.
Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjmmff625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap's on the Water also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Cap's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing