We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Breakfasts”
Review of Sea Oats Caffe'

Sea Oats Caffe'
Ranked #130 of 590 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Huge Breakfasts”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Their breakfasts are unbelievable. Pancakes, omelets and specials. Their sandwiches are excellent, different blends of meats and seafood. Salads are enormous. Super place, friendly and relaxing. Be prepared to stand in line during the summer season.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    57
    16
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough: This place can be huge!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a professionally trained chef who's cooked on some of the best lines in the US, I'm a very critical diner. Over the course of my winter road trip vacation in sunny Florida I did not find a better meal than the unexpected surprise that is Sea Oats Caffe. My girlfriend and I stumbled on the place by accident after hitting the Starbucks for some coffee (a good go-to when traveling, but I usually prefer a better cup-a-joe).

Every bite was delicious and every component of the meal was well prepared. We had a hard time choosing among the exciting flavors of pancakes and were thrilled with the home-made, fluffy, delicious Chili Chocolate Chip and Lime Zest. This was no box mix either, I know because I got a baking soda bubble. Don't let that scare you, though. The sign of freshness and kitchen craft was well worth the glitch. Anyway, I had the Florentine-style Crab Cake Benedict which was AMAZING. The cakes were prepared with a house recipe that included scallions, finely minced bell pepper and all the right seasonings. They were seared and not deep fried and the crab was of great quality. The hollandaise was freshly made, the spinach perfectly sauteed and even the English muffin nicely toasted. The home fries were the right mix of crispy and soft and there were even some bits of bacon in them, YUM! My girlfriend had a basic breakfast. Her grits were perfectly prepared (the Southern way, not instant). She was very, very happy!

As someone who has experience with both restaurants and advertising/graphic design, I think the facade and brand identity of the Sea Oats Caffe is its only challenge. I have to admit that I initially had reservations due to the tinted windows and tacky mix of fonts, as well as the fact it was located in a basic shopping center. The business could use a professional face lift to better reflect the stellar product it offers. I hope this businesses succeeds and I highly recommend it for anyone who likes to eat excellent, fresh food at an affordable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a local cafe”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this nice local cafe while looking for the Subway my Brother enjoyed last visit. Since it was after 11am most places stop serving breakfast and we remembered the shopping center from last visit. This is a local gem hidden in this shopping center..There is all sorts of different breakfast items served all day! The service was good and prices were too.. Just alittle crowded with the lay out of seating..We'll definitely visit again when local!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Prices and Great Food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Front Desk of our hotel suggested Sea Oats to us so glad we tried them. The place is a little small and is busy but worth the wait. I fed my family of three for $33 and none of us need to eat again til dinner. They have something like 24 types of pancakes and the pancakes are HUGE. The service was good. Lots of interesting items on the menu. VERY CLEAN and great prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaH1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PANCAKES”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The pancakes are tasty and huge, the biggest ever. I had plain with eggs and it was excellent. My mom had the blueberry pancake with eggs and sausage. My mom is not a big eater so the pancake was enough for breakfast the next day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Oats Caffe' also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
St. Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Sea Oats Caffe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing