We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK...”
Review of Kingfish Grill

Kingfish Grill
Ranked #40 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located right at the docks of Camachee Island Marina, THE KINGFISH GRILL offers spectacular waterfront views with both inside and outside dining. Enjoy the freshest seafood and casual cuisine served in a relaxed setting. We have something for everyone...."Bring the Family"! The HARBORVIEW BANQUET ROOM above Kingfish Grill is a beautiful second story event room with seating from 30 to 125. Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, and Social Gatherings, THE HARBORVIEW ROOM is spectacular space. Let us take care of all your needs so you can sit back, relax and enjoy your own party.
Riverview, Fl
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just OK...”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

First time at this restaurant. The restaurant itself was welcoming. They have a nice outside dining area, which is where we decided to dine. The wait staff was adequate. The garden salad was nothing special. Our fresh fish did not taste "fresh". For the cost of the entrees one would expect a nice flaky tasteful piece of fish, but it just wasn't restaurant quality. The next evening I couldn.t even remember what sides were provided with the dish.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cschli8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    222
    90
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kingfish Grill View”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our visit to the Kingfish Grill in St. Augustine, FL was mixed. The view was calming overlooking the marsh and the bridge. It was nice to watch a spoonbill fly by while relaxing over dinner. The food at Kingfish Grill is average, nothing to brag about and somewhat over-priced. I guess with a view comes a cost.

If I were to recommend this restaurant, I would be sure to let people know not to expect great food, but to enjoy the view.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amog-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the shrimp and grits!”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great marina location with a wonderful sunset view. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable; he recommended a delicious French wine with dinner. The shrimp and grits were fabulous! The blackened Mahi was perfect. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BKS_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't Drink the Water!”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a great little bar/resto in a great location on the Marina, as a sailor it's like coming home. The food is typical pub food a lot of fried stuff but tasty and well prepared and portions ample, the waitresses were very friendly and couldn't do enough for my wife who at the time was 5 months pregnant.

Only gripe, don't drink the tap water, we found this problem in several places in St Augustine, including the showers at the Holiday Inn, it smells sulphurous and gives you a very upset stomach, maybe the locals are used to it, it didn't seem to bother them

Overall nice place for a beer and lunch, watching over the boats in the Marina.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porkie_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Probably Won't Return”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

For a seafood restaurant by the ocean, I expected ALOT more. The prices were high, the portions were small, and the atmosphere was really, really loud! Not fun or enjoyable. My husband had the fish sandwich with sweet potato fries and slaw. I had the captain's platter and the shrimp was gummy and not fresh, the scallops were under cooked, there was just 3 fried oysters, and a few strips of blackened fish. Not Impressed and won't be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank perkyjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish Grill also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Kingfish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing