We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so food at a high price. Interesting atmosphere! Server's great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Alcazar

Cafe Alcazar
Ranked #9 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual fine dining in what was once the world's largest swimming pool. Offering international cuisine for lunch daily, and a special Art Walk dinner from 6PM to 9PM on the First Friday Art Walk of each month. Reservations recommended. Private events also available, please contact restaurant for details.
Dameron, Maryland
Level Contributor
427 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“So-so food at a high price. Interesting atmosphere! Server's great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Unfortunately, I could only rate the Cafe Alcazar an average as the food was over priced and only so-so. I had the Escargot ( at $10.95) which was O.K. - not in the shell. To follow that up, I had a Greek Salad ($11.95) which had no anchovies! What's a Greek salad if there are no anchovies? It did have stuffed grape leaves on it, which I've never heard of on a Greek salad and to me seemed "out of place". So basically I had average snails and a salad for $23.00 plus tip. The service was very good however and the atmosphere was different. The cafe is located inside the Lightner Museum around the backside, below. Seating is in what use to be the world's largest indoor saltwater swimming pool - I believe this was constructed in 1889.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    165
    44
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch prior to touring the Lightner Museum. Located in what used to be the world's largest indoor swimming pool our curiosity definitely drew us in. We weren't disappointed. Sandwiches and soup was perfect for lunch and we topped it off with oatmeal pie. Thoroughly enjoyed lunch and the atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jsc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tucked away and hidden in the Lightner Museum is a wonderful dining experience. Wait staff was very nice and knew the menu well. The history of the building itself is great and the antique shops are cute and friendly. We had the cheese and fruit platter for a starter, and shared a bacon and ham pizza for two! The pizza was the best pizza I've had, the sauce was amazing! Soft piano music playing in the background and very romantic and charming café in the middle of history. If you haven't experienced this yet, add it to the list the next time you visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nearandfar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor quality!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

After visiting the fabulous lightener museum my girlfriend and I decided to try what appeared to be cheap fine dining, well after about 10 minutes we realized the service was high end except when the food came out I wasn't impressed, I paid 15 dollars for a **** shrimp scampi that clearly was not fresh!!! I mean holy cow!!! Who serves week old shrimp? Wouldn't you be able to taste and smell that disgusting fishiness?? This place is clearly over rated just because they're in an elegant setting and every server and bus girl has white on with a tie, doesn't mean they have good food!! I should of ordered a sandwich. On the other hand it was gorgeous. =(

Helpful?
Thank Cuisine93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Unique, even by St Augustine standards. Great place for a romantic lunch or to meet friends. The ambiance is charming (it's very open, located in what used to be the bottom of a high-society swimming pool but don't be deterred, it's beautiful) as long as you're not looking for an intimate setting. Usually there is a pianist, which adds to the charm. The food is unusual and very good. We have had lunch here several times and not been disappointed. The cafe is essentially a part of the Lightner Museum, which we love, and also adjacent to a small antiques mall (with good stores when they're open...antique sellers seem not to keep regular hours). Service is impeccable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alcazar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing