We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Cafe Alcazar

Cafe Alcazar
Ranked #15 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual fine dining in what was once the world's largest swimming pool. Offering international cuisine for lunch daily, and a special Art Walk dinner from 6PM to 9PM on the First Friday Art Walk of each month. Reservations recommended. Private events also available, please contact restaurant for details.
Montgomery, AL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cool place with great food. Open for lunch only, you sit in what was once an old concrete swimming pool. Well worth the walk for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    170
    47
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for something different and quiet for lunch on a recent visit and found this great place through the Trip Advisor. It's in the deep end of a large indoor pool at an historic Flagler hotel. Very romantic location. Food and service were wonderful. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JHHboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch in a pool”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was hard to find the entrance, but the food and service were excellent! You have to take in the true history of the building and pool area to absorb where you actually are eating!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SomeBeachFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Loved our visit to the Lightner Museum. Lunch at the Alcazar was a perfect addition to the day. Being in the deep end of what was once an enormous indoor swimming pool added to the charm of the meal. Food was great, and we enjoyed the music of a very talented guitarist. It was splendid.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shmoopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cafe' Alcazar: A review about the art of service.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is not my first review of Alcazar. But it is my first review mostly about service.

A few days ago my companion took three of her lady friends from Chicago and Denver to lunch at Alcazar. Wanting them to be comfortable, in advance I made arrangements with the management to pay for the bill myself, leaving the ladies to enjoy their dining.

It was not a simple meal, as one lady had dietary challenges. But Alcazar’s head waiter, Sean, told me in advance he would handle my companion’s group personally, and make sure all received exactly what they wanted and needed.

After the meal, they gave me their critiques: The entire meal was excellent; Baked artichoke, spinach crepes, potato bisque soup, and, especially, the wine. I told the management to provide only their very best wine to the ladies, and all of them said the Sauvignon Blanc was the best ever tasted.

But the most memorable part of the luncheon was not the food; it was the service. Sean was incredibly attentive (and this I can verify personally, as I stopped in for just a couple of minutes to join the ladies for coffee), and made sure that the one person with the dietary needs received exactly what she needed. He asked the cook repeatedly if this and that item was soy-free, and substituted without complaint or any mention of charges. When the entrees were served, and the one lady was given one item not on her diet, Sean seemed to produce a plate out of thin air, so the delicious-looking potato salad could be placed on the added plate and enjoyed by the other ladies.

Later, all the ladies –experienced well-travelled ladies dining in very high-end restaurants in many cities and countries- told me that Sean’s attention was the best they had ever received.

Sean was tireless, seemed genuinely concerned with everyone’s needs, and friendly yet professional.

To cap off a wonderful meal, George Chryssaidis, owner of the restaurant (and two others in Saint Augustine) stopped by my friends’ table, to make sure all was well. A nice touch.

My companion and her friends were in perfect hands.

This is the first ‘Excellent’ review I’ve ever given.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank energy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alcazar also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Cafe Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing