We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't as good as the reviews suggested” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Brava

Costa Brava
Reserve with OpenTable
Costa Brava is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 571 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: King
Description: Enter Costa Brava through hand painted gold leaf Moroccan arches into the elegance and allure of Costa Brava Restaurant. Polish casual dining with a southern Bohemian influence. Focusing on fresh local seafood and eccentric tapas.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wasn't as good as the reviews suggested”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

First night there, tired from our early flight, so why not eat in the hotel? The fried green tomatoes were probably the best I've ever eaten. I had a Bistro steak and it was a hunk of meat like the Flintstones would have eaten. When the server described it, he was vague. I told him that he should tell people it's like a Hanger steak only not tender and like a steak from the Flintstones era. It was disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irie2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    115
    76
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We chose this restaurant for dinner after our ceremony at The St. Francis Inn. The food was amazing and such a regal restaurant!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Horrible service, good food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Overall, the food was pretty good, but service was horrible. We arrived with a dinner reservation on December 29th and were told by Maitre d to wait a few minutes. Half hour later, I realized the Maitre d forgot about us. He then said "our table" was ready and motioned for us to sit at a table that was already occupied. Realizing his mistake, he moved the occupants of that table someplace else and sat us down. which was pretty embarrassing for all concerned. Server was no better. Forgot water, bread; served entrees with appetizer plates still on table. I discreetly pointed it out only to see him make the same mistake with desserts. Food was tasty, well prepared and served hot. Too bad the terrible service detracts from the overall experience. The food and beverage managers and staff at this restaurant, which is located inside the Casa Monica Hotel, are in desperate need of training.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jad648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant did not live up to the reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Somewhat disappointed
We were visiting St Augustine for New Years Eve and chose this restaurant as part of our celebration.
The restaurant did not live up to the reviews. I expected great service, which was not there. The restaurant itself was no more of a special place to eat than the casual lobby leading into it. It was almost empty, yet the host tried to seat us at the worst table in the house, the first table near the kitchen door. When objected, she then offered a table next to it. We finally were seated at a nice table far from the kitchen door only to be disappointed with the service. Maybe they were punishment us for requiring a better table. Had this place been full, I would not have objected to the seating. The food was "OK," but not exciting. The person writing earlier review recommending this place (is the reason for my reservation) must have received special treatment or maybe it was the "end-of-the-year" holidays creating a problem.

We were properly dressed for fine dining in a casual setting (sport coat with pocket squares).

Add to Favorites

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 49williamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The service and food is second to none. We dine here everytime we visit St. Augustine. The restaurant is absolutely stunning.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Brava also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing