We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Ambiance”

Raintree Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Raintree Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bernard Street
Orange Park
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful Ambiance”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I went to the Raintree Restaurant after attending a meeting in St. Augustine. We were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the cozy atmosphere inside for dinner and particularly enjoyed our waitress, Kelly. She was cheerful, friendly and most of all attentive. Our food was just perfect. I ordered the petite filet and my husband selected the prim rib, both were delicious along with the side dishes. We decided to stay and have desert out on the patio and listen to the wonderful music. It was a perfect evening. We enjoyed ourselves so much we went back a week later with friends who were celebrating a birthday. We are looking forward to going back as we live only about 45 minutes away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    332
    136
    87
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dinner Theatre "Check Please" a disappointment-don't waste your money”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and myself along with another couple attended the play that had a choice of only 3 entrees served prior to the play. The food was just ok, a big disappointment. The play was a very big disappointment. It was not well written, very predictable and corny. One actor was very hard to hear. The warm-up act was a comedian who barely got a laugh. We considered just leaving before it was done, but didn't want to be rude. The waiters and staff were very good, the outside seating is beautiful, but the food and play just didn't make up for the bill with the 17% tip added even to the price of the play. I do not recommend this!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsingirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury ct usa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“over all very good”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We ate here twice during a visit to St Augistine area. The resturant has a delightful patio for a pleasant supper experiance and the dineing room inside is also very nice but a bit noisey. Both my wife and Had fine entres both times but the second time we went we felt as though we were in resturant prison as the service was very slow...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Anniversary not so romantic ”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Picked the restaurant based on the great website and all the pictures and videos of the food that looked so good. The website advertises 'romantic' but our experience felt more like Denny's. It was a very windy evening so we were sat inside. I feel like our experience would have been 1000 times better if we could have sat in the courtyard. We were sandwiched between a family table of 8 with 3 kids under 10 and another table of 4 very loud Mediterranean individuals. We couldn't have a romantic conversation because we could barely hear each other.
For the food, we actually went with recommendations by the waitress, as we do with many restaurants we've never been to. I had the shrimp and lobster pasta- too much pasta and very bland seafood. My husband had the brandy pepper steak ordered medium well- it arrived more like medium rare and the pepper topping was too much and most needed to be scraped off (which even the waitress warned us about). Overall, the food was not impressive for the price. However, we wanted to try to be redeemed by the desert and that did not disappoint. My husband had the Reese's peanut butter cookie with Espresso ice cream and I tried the cinnamon banana crepes. Both absolutely delicious!! The cookie from the Reese's dish was a crunchy cookie that was hard to break for bite sized pieces but very tasty.
In terms of the staff, the tables around us had an awesome server! A gentleman who'd obviously worked there for years and knew his stuff. Brought out the desert menu on an iPad with pictures. He even offered a couple historical facts about the house. Our server, who may have been new or inexperienced, wasn't as good but not unpleasant. She had the specials on a folded up piece of paper, not memorized, she touched her hair and face several times, she even carried the peppercorn grinder under her arm. She offered suggestions but unfortunately they didn't turn out that great. She did present us with a card from the restaurant that said 'Happy Anniversary,' even though we didn't mention the occasion, which was nice.
Five star cuisine (when prepared properly) does not mix with the casual/family dining experience. Someone will feel cheated. We look forward to the day when America embraces adult-only restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank TravelKitty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,illinios
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great place. They have a shuttle service which we used. we sat outside very romantic. Food was good Our server was the best. Tipped the server more than the resturant added to our bill.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mangia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raintree Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Raintree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing