We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downgraded to Very Good”
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #56 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Downgraded to Very Good”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Unfortunately we must downgrade one of our most frequented restaurants in St. Augustine. But just to very good. We were only slightly disappointed with the portions and taste of the last two specials we ate in December. Maybe it was the busy season. Maybe it was time of night. But, for that kind of money, it should be right .... all the time and it was slightly off. We will go back again but La Pentola will no longer be our first choice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    133
    55
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Class Act”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a reservation for Christmas dinner but went by earlier and they were very accommodating and offered to feed us then. The lemon grass soup with shrimp was absolutely wonderful and the quail perfectly cooked. The dessert sampler was the perfect end to the meal. The food was beautiful and expertly served. Our waitperson was knowledgeable and helpful. All in all a great experience on a busy, crowded day. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyanddouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than your standard fare.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We chose La Pentola because it was near our inn. They had a nice courtyard, but because it was cool out, we decided to eat inside. Our waitress was a bit difficult to understand, but the bigger problem was that she seemed impatient and annoyed that we weren't deciding our meals more quickly (we had only been looking for just a few minutes and deciding on wines). Maybe she had lots to do and felt she needed to get on to other tables (it was not a rushed atmosphere or clamorous like some restaurants), but it made us feel rushed.

We both had the salmon with lemon cream sauce and veggies. I have no complaints about the food. It was very delicious. We were not given any bread plates, and when my companion said, "We didn't get any bread...," she interrupted with "there it is," pointing to the bread; she didn't give him a chance to say we didn't get any bread plates. The salmon dinner was $20, which was, for me, a bit pricey, but the food is good, and it is a touristy area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tastebuddy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible service - food was OK at best”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I really care about good vegetables with a meal. We explained that to our server, and asked what vegies came with the entrees. She was very specific about what they were for that day, which helped me decide on the entree. My husband requested a substitution and we gladly agreed to an up-charge to do so.

Our dinners were served and neither one came with the vegies we ordered. My fish special was dried out and tasteless - for $29.00. When we brought the issue with the vegetables to our servers attention her reply was: "oh well". We also had to asked for the up-charge to be removed since that request was not accommodated. This was a very disappointing first meal of the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gumbygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookside, nj
1 review
“Best food in a long time!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Came down to saint augustine from ponte vedra just to eat at my favorite restaurant! As usual, food was great. The service exceeded my expectations. The atmosphere out in the patio is second to none!!! We love eating out there! It may cost us a little extra in time and gas, but the trip to la pentola is well worth anyone's time. Do yourself a favor and try this place!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjaforevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing