We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great total experience”
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #59 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great total experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I do not understand how this chef owned gem is not rated higher. All of the sauces were balanced and complimented without overpowering the main dish. Service and wine selection are on par with the excellent food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    130
    55
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An almost perfect place.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I made reservations to celebrate our anniversary and at the same time my birthday. Our waitress Barbara was absolutely great. Our food was well prepared, I ordered the rib eye and my wife the butterflied tenderloin streak. Due to the place being small you do hear others having their conversations which took away from the romance of the place. From our table we can see almost right in to the kitchen, hearing the cooks speaking, and the movement of the waitresses in and out. But besides these things that can be fixed the place is perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBombays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We quite liked our visit to this restaurant. We ate outside on the patio in the evening. It is quite beautiful and a lovely romantic atmosphere. It made my beautiful wife's eyes twinkle.

The service at this restaurant was excellent. They were very friendly and seemed happy that we were there. There were very attentive and notice our needs. And at the same time they didn't smother us. They came out immediately when we needed something, but when they finished helping us out, they gave us the distance and space to enjoy our time. I appreciate that kind of sensitivity to both our needs and our space.

Every member of our family of 5 enjoyed our dinner. Every dish was prepared very nicely. I have only compliments for our food. We've been to our fair share of restaurants so our standards are quite high. I wouldn't say that I was blown away, but we certainly very much enjoyed all that we were served.

Price wise, I found them a bit pricey considering the whole experience. It was good, but priced a bit high for what we received. I guess all part of the premium you pay for being in that part of Saint Augustine.

Because of the location in that trendy part of town (historical district), parking is an issue. Be prepared for a little bit of a walk. But no big deal (for us).

Overall, I think this place is a decent option worth checking out. We enjoyed our experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rousu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A touch of Europe in St Augustine.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location and ambience. Charming al fresco dining in a European like courtyard. Service is excellent and helpful. We've eaten here several times, always good, but seems to be slipping a bit. I had ravioli in a tomato cream sauce. It was ok, but too acidic over powering the lobster ravioli ...which didn't have any noticeable lobster. My wife had scampi with a tomato wine sauce over angle hair. The dish lacked balance and smoothness. It had an overpowering tomato taste.

Their wine list is quite good with something to please every pallet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaroldB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian food.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I good food. You may dine outside or inside. The prices are on a little high, but worth it. It is romantic and probably not too kid friendly. I personally love their deserts and coffee. It is in the middle of the historic disctrict...so parking is not so easy. It is best to use the city garage that is only a few blocks away. They have been around for over 10 years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cs00campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing