We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty lunch in beautiful courtyard”
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #52 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch in beautiful courtyard”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful seafood pasta dish in the courtyard. Great service, complementary salad, home baked bread and the a great meal. Very quiet place in the historic town center. Would come back IF I didn't live 1000 miles away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salttoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    128
    55
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner in the courtyard”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We decided to sit outside and wished that maybe we had sat inside since they had a fan blowing and the noise was very distracting. We ordered catch of the day which was snapper and veal marsala.The fish was fresh, but the veal a little tough and the sauce a little bland. Overall a pleasant evening, although we did not appreciate them putting everything away for the evening whilst we were still dining...we would have stayed for another drink but felt we should leave and let them close up!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank llandenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, FL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Want Real Dining Experiences, Find Gems Like This One”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We looked up this particular establishment for a real nice dining experience during our visit and were not disappointed in the least. Excellent service, food, and presentation, with an option for a meal in an open-air courtyard. Very nice, definitely a great choice for planning a wonderful meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrivenerlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lucky discovery”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I had tromped all over the too-touristy sightseeing district earlier in the day and had spotted a few possible places for dinner. When we went back at night, the overcrowded, hyper-touristy vibe was even worse. After hunting for over an hour for a parking space, we went around from restaurant to restaurant and found everything way too crowded and/or pretentious, or it was generic, fill-your-belly food. After being seated in one restaurant and ignored until we got up and left, we finally came across LaPentola, which is kind of tucked away off the busiest part of the district. The hostess suggested we sit inside, which turned out to be a stroke of luck because a heavy downpour hit a short time later. Inside, our waitress, who mentioned she was from Brasil, was quietly friendly and helpful. We started our meal with a shrimp ceviche that was fantastic in its balance of flavors. For our main course, we each ordered specials. My wife had a lamb shank and I had a seafood pasta. Both were expertly prepared. Again, there was a terrific balance in the components - no one element buried the rest. My pasta was with angel hair. I asked for it al dente, and it came out that way - not easy to do with angel hair. Going out to eat is a form of entertainment for us, as we like to discuss the food, how it was prepared, how was the execution, all that. This was one of the best experiences we've had in recent memory. This may not be the place to go for a family on vacation, but for couples or a couple of couples having grownups' night out, an excellent choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klint L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant's outside dining garden is very unique and pleasant. The seating, tables and garden are just so enjoyable and peaceful. Their breakfast menu was excellent and we enjoyed the "Eggs Florentine", the warm bread with jelly and the coffee was just perfect. The atmosphere was very relaxing. We plan to go to dinner very soon! The staff was very attentive and friendly...give it a try you will like it too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 884KathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing