We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best friend shrimp in Florida!”

O'Steen's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best friend shrimp in Florida!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This cosy, homey Restaurant, located just before the bridge Into St Augustine and almost next to the British pub( the Union Jack is clearly visible), is a must-visit place for any tourist or local. I had the best fried shrimp (such a tasty light batter) and delicious scallops...both heartily recommended. Not a place to watch your weight as there is typical Southern fare served in an enlarged dining room with limited seating. They only accept CASH and you often have to wait for a table at busy times...but there are benches outside or you could wet your whistle at the British pub a few steps away. At O'Steen's courteous, typically Southern, hospitable service! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    241
    102
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still Great After A WHOLE LOT OF YEARS”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have lived just a short distance from St. Augustine and it's many restaraunts for most of my life. I first visited O'Steens around 35 years ago and fell in love with high quality fried seafood they offer. Over the years O'Steens has remained a favorite for seafood but requires patience when going there due to the usual line around the building, and the wait that accompanies it. For that reason we haven't been to O'Steens in a couple years trying other seafood restaurants instead and finding some we very much enjoyed. While visiting St. Augustine this weekend we noticed a very short line around 5:00 p.m. while driving by O'Steens. We decided the timing was perfect to try it again. We were not dissapointed as we all quickly decided the fried shrimp we were served was easily the best in town or anywhwere ese in the state we have been. If you like fried seafood, especially shrimp, O'steens is the place. The building is old, the atmosphere is just okay reflecting the age of the business, but if you love local fried shrimp, O'Steens is the best in St. Augustine or anywhere else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I guess we had impeccable timing...walked right in at 11:30 on a weekday, had a window table, and amazingly yummy, simple, real food. Great service, super reasonable prices, and nice local customers of all ages. A treasure!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Charming and Refreshing”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Take cash, its the only legal tender accepted, and I welcome it, its been the real American method of trade for generations.

This restaurant is a charming quaint single dining room with limited seating, but offers great fresh cooked seafood from a simple menu of various seafood offerings - the way it should be done. The menu also offers Florida Cracker favorites such as fried chicken livers, fried chicken, strip steak, and then includes home style sides such as mixed greens, cole slaw, great northern beans, and all the usual side fare to make anyone happy.

We ordered the seafood platter that consisted of shrimp, scallops, oysters, fish and crab cakes. Although Talapia is the usual fish served on the platter, ours was served with a large thick filet of fresh snow white fried Flounder at no extra charge, very delicious, firm and gently flakey. All items were very good and very fresh. They do serve homemade Datil pepper sauce on the table that is unique to St. Aug, but very tasty.

We've been to a number of small famly owned fish houses around the country and enjoy them better than chains and assembly line style fish markets. Osteen's is one of the best and I highly recommend it. If you visist St Aug, don;t leave without trying really good seafood from this local favorite!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dierdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fresh shrimp”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

very nice, small, mom and pop restaurant. fresh seafood, and hush puppies. worth a visit. very pleasant wait staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jduncan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing