We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Great, and..............Great”

O'Steen's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great, Great, and..............Great”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You know when a small restaurant has a large padded seating bench outside next to entrance, there is a good reason and there is, the food! Shrimp, their specialty, wonderful, plenty, exquisite! Their signature sauce is divine as is the spicy sauce. I ordered pickled beets and cole slaw - and being originally from the Amish area in PA I was not only surprised to see pickled beets buy have them every bit as good. The cole slaw was the same - mouthwatering. There was nothing remotely negative to say - do your tastebuds a treat and go there - and go early. We arrived 10 min after opening and within another 15 it was packed inside and with over 20 diners waiting outside and it is like that all the time - Go and go quickly!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodLifeTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    237
    98
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was told to go here by a local. It does not look fancy but they have great seafood! The fish is fresh. Many locals go here to dine!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The fried shrimp!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The fried shrimp was so good! The sides were really good, too. It's a wholesome atmosphere for families because it's a dry establishment. Great for families, but I like beer with my seafood! Overall, you will leave with a happy belly. :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“old style seafood house”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is exactly what we were looking for in a seafood restaurant at the beach -- friendly staff, good pricing, delicious food, a simple "formica table" kind of place. Fried shrimp, broiled scallops, hushpuppies, and biscuit were all very good. Could have used some side dish that wasn't fried, sugary, or cooked with bacon. Cash only.
We went at 8 on a Friday night and waited down the street at the Pub for about 20 minutes. They phoned the bartender when our table was ready. Great system for a place with no room to wait. While we were waiting at the window to give our name, the lady in front of us said they drive in from Ormond Beach to eat the shrimp and sauce. The sauce seemed most like a Louis sauce and the pepper sauce on the table gave it a nice kick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bijoux404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not "World's Best Fried Shrimp"”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited O'Steen's at 2:00pm and found a line of people waiting up to an hour for seats inside. So we ordered take-out and got our food in 15 minutes. Same food ... just a much shorter wait time. We waited in the Antique Mall next door which has the loudspeaker piped in so that you can hear when your order is ready. The shrimp were good ... no question about that. The "World's Best"? No. I've had better elsewhere. The shrimp are lightly, very lightly, battered and butterflied to look like a "T". They are obviously fresh off the boat. The pink sauce was just okay. We are used to cocktail sauce with horseradish in it, so a ketchup/mayonnaise/vinegar sauce just didn't have enough oomph. Ordered the fries and coleslaw as sides. Fries were the weakest part of the meal. Coleslaw was good. We will go back, and next time try the cucumber salad recommended by so many.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pengo809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing