We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait”

O'Steen's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

After a long 30 minute we were treated to one of the most uninspiring meals in a long time. The restaurant was noisy and the food was at best below average. Our server was overworked and not very pleasant. This is not even a lets try it once type of place.

Helpful?
1 Thank skipster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    241
    102
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Stop looking - -Best fried shrimp in the world”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a family restaurant that has been around for a long time. The specialty is fried shrimp. They do have other items you can choose from. The meals are complimented with great vegetable choices. I enjoyed a dozen fried shrimp with field peas and green beans. My wife also enjoyed the fried shrimp served with green beans and cucumbers with tomatoes. I have eaten here about 8 times and can say they are very consistent and good. There is usually a wait and in season it can be an hour. If you are in the area treat yourself to an excellent meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiftmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The best shrimp I ever had”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

A very clean restaurant, with the best fried shrimp I ever had. The shrimp were fresh and so full of flavor. The sides were also quit delicious.rice and beans a must. The cole slaw just yummy. The service was also great. They were all so nice. But there is always a wait .but trust me when I say we'll worth it. Can,t wait to go back...

Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“South at its Best”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I go to this restaurant often and it is always a pleasure. Be prepared to have an hour or more of waiting once you put your name down and understand that when they say "1.5 hours" they may mean "thirty minutes." If you can get past that then the food is unbeatable. Service is not so nice but I think it is because regardless of how they look at you or speak to you you will come back for the food. Not saying they are rude but the can be curt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amk07g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Down Home Cooking”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Definitely a blast from the past. Cash only. No reservations. You’ve got to put your name on the list and wait until you’re called, which averages about 20-30 minutes. Once inside you’ll think you stepped back in history. The place is small with a few counter seats. While the menu features a variety of fried and broiled selections, shrimp is the name of the game here. Lightly battered and served with a spicy homemade dipping sauce, the shrimp are well worth the wait. We also had a Minorcan Clam Chowder that was spicy and great. If you need a bit more zest, there’s Datil pepper sauce on every table.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UnpretentiousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing