We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Fried”

O'Steen's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Little River, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not all Fried”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We tried O'Steens based on TripAdvisor and several friends' recommendations. No doubt about it, O'Steens is great. Whatever the atmosphere lacks, the food makes up for it. Staff & mgmt are friendly and efficient. Manager worked our party of 2 ahead of the line.

I ordered the flounder from the broiled menu with two healthier sides. So the only fried items with the meal were the hushpuppies. I love fried flounder, but you DO have a choice at O'Steens..
BTW, the large portion of flounder was super.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    241
    100
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best fried shrimp”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We ate here based on recommendations from a friend since we wanted to get some fried oysters while in St. Augustine. My husband and I ordered fried shrimp and fried oysters since I had read the reviews about the fried shrimp. The fried oysters were good but the fried shrimp was delicious and definitely the best fried shrimp we've ever had. The server was wonderful and such a sweetheart! The service was great. We went before 5 p.m. so were able to get seated with no wait. We'll definitely go back there for the fried shrimp if we're back in the area!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gracefavorlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“SHRIMP!!Yummu shrimp”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The absolute best shrimp ever. I'm not a fan of fried food, but these shrimp had such a light batter and were so fresh I didn't mnd that they were fried. We went there for a late lunch, so didn't have much of a wait. We had been told that it was small and sometimes a long wait for a table. Even if that is the case, it would be worth the wait. No credit cards, cash only, but the food was great and the service was excellent also. Highly recommend this local favorite!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely SUPERIOR”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After reviewing some of the Tripadvisor ratings of this restaurant, we decided to give O´Steens a try. We were instantly hooked on the excellent seafood...Fried shrip to die for!!!
It is definitely a local secret and worth the wait. It is a rather unspectacular location and you have to look for it to not miss it. But once there, you are in culinary heaven.
Service is great, prices are good and you have a lot of daily changing side options to go with your entree. My favorite is the 9 piece shrimp with corn bread, cole slaw and okra.
Every time we are in St. Augustine now, we will be back several times.

As others have stated before: CASH ONLY!! And come early for lunch and dinner!! NO reservations.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebelbnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“What a jewel! Make sure you find this place!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stumbled upon O'Steen's for supper after getting in to town late. When driving through town, we saw a lot of people sitting inside and figured it must have been a good place to eat. When driving back out of town (we went to take pictures of the St Augustine Lighthouse), we stopped there. One of the locals sitting outside (waiting for a table) told us the place was excellent, and was known for their shrimp. Also stated that waiting 1 1/2-2 hours wasn't unusual. Since there were just 2 of us (and off season), we were seated immediately even though others were waiting. We ordered the shrimp...and it was FANTASTIC! You can order a 9 or a 12 piece; 9 was plenty for me. Lightly breaded (tempura type batter), expertly cooked. Came with fries, hush puppies and cole slaw. All was good. Wait staff and cashier were friendly. Everyone helped everyone else out. If you're in the area, make sure you find O'Steen's!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Steen's Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to O'Steen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing