We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits

O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits
Ranked #56 of 571 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food, prompt, efficient service and friendly staff. We enjoyed a quiet table with a garden view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marshhen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    552
    251
    101
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food, service and music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although it was a cool evening, the outdoor warming lights created a comfortable atmosphere, even for outdoor dining. Loved everything about our evening here, from the drinks to soup, main course and dessert. I had a white wine with "leap frog" in the name and it paired wonderfully with my seafood dish. The mahi was topped with blue crab, sun dried tomatoes and a cream sauce and was wonderful in every way. My husband had a huge filet mignon, done perfectly, nicely browned on the outside, rare on the inside. We enjoyed the live music and decided to linger over dessert. Shared a key lime pie that was superb!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary night dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were able to eat outside on the patio with a beautiful night and lights and music! Dinner was excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank linneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stopped in for a few drinks and appetizers! Great bartender and the food was fantastic! I highly recommend this if you're looking for a nice pub.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankyP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming venue, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Decided to try this restaurant for lunch on a Sunday. It is an old restored house, as are many restaurants in St. Augustine. This one is located on the main drag across from the water. The outside seating in a courtyard is very pretty, however, we opted to sit inside because it was a bit chilly outside. Should have sat outside, it was actually warmer there next to the heat lamps than it was inside! We both opted to have the "award winning" clam chowder which was really pretty good. It had a very different taste from typical chowders - couldn't quite place the seasoning, but it was tasty. Since this was a new restaurant for us, we decided to stick with their signature dishes. We both had the blue crabcake sandwich with fries. The serving size was large, but the crabcake was bland. Very little flavor to it. I don't think I would have that again.

There is a small bar inside that seats around 12 people if you just want to go for drinks.

The service was pleasant, but slow. It took quite awhile to get the cups of chowder we ordered, but when it was served it was piping hot and worth the wait. The sandwiches came within a reasonable time after that.

There is a free parking lot across the street from the restaurant which is very helpful since parking is limited in St. Augustine.

I will probably give this restaurant another chance since so many people really enjoy it there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathyl249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to O.C. White's Seafood & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing