We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ice Cream in St Augustine.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cold Cow

Cold Cow
Ranked #21 of 40 Dessert in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in St Augustine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Delicious ice cream, at a reasonable price. Jason the owner is warm, inviting and generous with every scoop. I had mac carmel fudge, rich in pecans, and large chucks of fudge in a creamy carmel ice cream flavor. We go to the Cold Calf on A1A near the bridge, it's quick and easy stop on the way downtown. Best ice cream deal in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    3
    6
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nolaqueen
Level Contributor
385 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We were directed here from a small diner after dinner. Was easy to find off the highway not in St Augustine historical district. The ice cream all made local and everything we tasted was excellent! We ate there and it stayed fairly busy while we were there but staff was friendly and efficient in getting everyone taken care of.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nolaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Old Time Dairy Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

It's been too long since I last had ice cream made by/at the store itself. Really tasty, and with some ambitious different flavors......we went back three times.
The two outdoor locations (nr. Ripley's museum and on A1A are a little inconvenient (no place to sit, dependent on the weather, not very shady), but they still carry the same delicious ice cream. The main site on US 1 has some indoor seating and the service sizes are ample.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really trying to love this place, but. . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We tried both the Cold Cow and the Cold Calf (which is essentially a Cold Cow food truck on A1A) within a week of each other. Our kids were the only ones who got something at Cold Calf, but when we visited Cold Cow, we all had something.

I have read many positive reviews; as a result, I was so excited to try Cold Cow. I have to agree with several reviewers who mentioned they can't quite figure out system employees use to serve customers. Whatever it is, it doesn't work and extends the wait time. We waited between 7-10 minutes to get our ice cream (there were 4 of us, and we all ordered one small scoop of ice cream). It seems like they take the orders of multiple customers at once, as opposed to one group or person at a time. What ends up happening is a major backlog of ice cream orders and 10 people at once standing awkwardly in the store, waiting for ice cream. I'm not sure why the owners feel this is efficient, because it's simply not. There is no other ice cream establishment that uses this system, so why do they?

The customer service at both locations is great, and that's the strength of the business. The owners really want customers happy and are friendly.

As far as the ice cream, I wasn't blown away by it. I had a small scoop of the pineapple-coconut, but there wasn't any hint of coconut. However, the serving sizes are huge, and you really get your money's worth. The smallest size is $2.50, and again, it's very plentiful. There were a few different menus on two different places on the wall, which was a little confusing. They need to make one main menu--in one main place--so choosing what to order is easier.

I really do want to love this place because Cold Cow how so much potential. The owners need to streamline some of their practices. I will probably give this place one more try and just order something more basic. . .and expect a longer than usual wait.

By the way, Cold Calf (the food truck one) accepts cash only, while Cold Cow accepts both cash and credit cards.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
284 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“We frequent the "other" location but what a great experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The "Cold Calf" is located on Anastasia Island at 802 Anastasia Blvd. near the Gypsy Cab Company restaurant. The small wagon which is an annex of the Cold Cow restaurant, is open 3pm until 9-10pm most nights. The flavors are wonderful, the portions are huge and the service is friendly.

The best part is that my wife's sister and her husband live just a block from the Cold Calf. I've sampled about 15 of their flavors and every single one has been ultra rich, creamy and utterly fantastic. Mexican hot chocolate and toasted coconut are probably my two favorites.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evac93rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Cow also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Cold Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing