We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience! A "MUST DO" in St. Augustine!!!”

St. Augustine Biplane Rides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: St. Augustine's Only Authentic Biplane Company! Attention, We Are Open Year Round. Autumn And Winter Are Perfect Times To Fly In Florida!! Experience the Thrill of Flying in an Open Cockpit Biplane! At St. Augustine Biplane Rides you will have the rare opportunity to travel back in time to the "Golden Age of Aviation." Not only will you get to fly in a beautiful open cockpit biplane, you can share the experience. Our Biplane Seats Two Passengers! Yep, our WACO biplane seats two side by side, so you can bring along a friend, or loved one, and get to fly over beautiful St. Augustine. Our Waco is a true time machine and the world's only currently produced luxury 1935 Model, FAA Certified Biplane. If you love St. Augustine from the ground you will appreciate it even more from the air. Where else can you fly in a true piece of aviation history over one of the most historic places in the USA!Our company offers this unique "combined" experience offered nowhere else...
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience! A "MUST DO" in St. Augustine!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I arranged for the flight as a gift for my fiancés birthday, ironically it turned out to be a gift for me too! I have a lifelong fear of heights but forgot all about it! We did the barnstormer tour which combines the best of every tour they offer. We went over the Castillo de San Marcos, which was so unique to experience from the sky vs. the ground, WOW! We saw so much of historic St. Augustine and went up and down the coastline, including over the lighthouse which we had walked the day before. Dave is extremely knowledgeable and was a great tour guide for these first time biplane riders. He made it an unforgettable experience!!! We will definitely we back in the future with our family and friends so they can experience the biplane. I highly recommend this to everyone visiting the area, definitely make time for it....worth every minute!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sebago Lake, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset flight with Dave...”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

...was amazing! Sitting in the front seat of an open cockpit biplane is a hoot anyway, but Dave was so personable and shared plenty of great information. He clearly has a passion for what he is doing, and it shows! He started the tour by answering all of our questions, then took us up to see the city of St. Augustine and Anastasia State Park. After circling a few times, he accommodated our sense of adventure by making some steep descents and turns, to give us the wonderful rollercoaster effect we craved. Next, he took us south down the beach, and went as far as flying over our condo even though it was a bit farther than he wanted to go, circling to allow us pictures. The sunset was beautiful! He next flew north up the beach, then back down A1A to the airport. Thanks again for a lovely ride!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“take a great ride”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

i have been flying since i was ten. most flights were in pipers with my dad. i have had two fantasy flights, the first in a ford tri-motor, and today was the second in a WACO biplane at the st augustine airport. it was the celabration of my 70th birthday. wonderful ride with a great pilot, david, who was very informative and friendly. the plane was in tip top shape and the preflight instructions were complete. i would trust this pilot and plane any time. this is one of the best ways to see the st augustime area. www.staugustinebiplanerides.com 904-625-1450

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitstaugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“BIPLANE AMAZING”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Go back in time they say and ride a 1935 plane. Dave did just that and more. We were put in a two seat and felt like we were doing the flying. It was a open cock pit. We flew over the College and several other buildings. Along the beach coast line. The thrill was over the open sea. You felt like a bird in flight. This is something that had been on our bucket list for awhile. It was a beautiful day and could not have been more perfect. Found the deal on Travel Zoo and well worth the money. If you see it again take advantage of it. Dave and his wife Victoria could not have been any nicer. Planning on going again when the lights are lite at Christmas. This would make a wonderful birthday, wedding, or gift anytime. Dottie & Butch Whiteford

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Other people already wrote reviews and I agree with that what they said.
The flight was a great experience over a beautiful location with a perfect sunset and an absolutely professional pilot.What else can one ask for?
Thanks Dave.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Bone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Biplane Rides also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to St. Augustine Biplane Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing