We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great even if you don't play golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Villas at World Golf Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great even if you don't play golf”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the most pleasant places I have been in a while. Set on a golf course it has great views and grounds are as well kept as putting greens. Our unit was huge, two bedroom both with hot tubs. Granite counter tops. Could not think of anything to add that would make the unit any better. We arrived early enough to skip over to the Imax theatre and check out a 3d movie. Great experience. There are enough things to do that you rarely have to leave the grounds, but don't dare miss a trip to nearby St Augustine. We spent parts of three days in downtown St Augustine and still are planning to return to catch things we didn't have time for. The staff was helpful and attentive. This is one of the better trips I have had in a while

Room Tip: Third floor building 2 offered a great view of golf course but the early morning sun made the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    101
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
142
126
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First off, the location is absolutely gorgeous with plenty of activities to do! The pool was great and there was plenty of areas to take nice long walks or runs on. The main problem I had was the rooms. The cosmetic feature of the rooms was fantastic, but the walls were PAPER THIN! Our neighbors sounded like they were right in our kitchen and we could hear them to all hours of the night. They were screaming a few times but even when they were just talking amongst one another you could hear the entire conversation. Even when the guests were being loud and screaming we called the front desk to complain and they told us to go knock on their door and tell them to be quiet. This is NOT an apartment, this is a resort. We should not have to deal with that ourselves. They should have immediately called that room.
The other main problem we had was that we did not have hot water. We told the front desk and sent someone to come look at it and he did absolutely nothing! He said the bath in the bedroom got hot water but none of the showers and sinks do so maybe you should just let the water run for a REALLY long time and see if that does anything. I was extremely not happy with the resort just telling us to deal with it or to try leaving the water run for an hour. We still managed only to get warm water which didn't exactly make our shower time enjoyable.

The area of the resort was very peaceful but I was extremely not happy with how our problems were handled by the staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkbait730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are Bluegreen owners and this is a return trip for us. Our first room was a 1 bedroom Deluxe and this time it was a 1 bedroom Luxury in Villa 3 on the 3rd floor. The 1 bedroom Luxury had a King size bed. The bedroom was by the screened in balcony with the living room by the front door. This arrangement is not my favorite. I like the living room by the balcony and the view. Our view was awesome- view of 17th and 18 holes of The Slammer & The Squire golf course. Lighting in the living room was not as bright as I would have liked. Our unit had granite counter tops, flat screen TV's, a newer tile floor but the furniture in living room and dining room was outdated. The screened in porch is so so nice. I prefer the larger 1 bedroom(Deluxe) with about twice the square feet but it was not available. In this Deluxe unit the bedroom and the living room both have the same views and open to the balcony. If you like larger resorts with multiple restaurants, a golf course, golf shops, the GOLF HALL of Fame museum and IMAX theatre...this is for you. St. Augustine is only a 10-15 minute car trip away, too. BUT you would never have to leave this beautifully groomed VILLAGE!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom Deluxe with more square footage and bedroom and living room opening to balcony is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BYI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very nice place, and it was free because we listened to the timeshare stuff. But, other than that, it was nice. Noisy neighbors. But not the hotel's fault. Nice kitchen. The TV didn't work for most of our stay. We called many times, and complained many times, but it wasn't fixed until our last night there. We did the usual tourist attractions, but sometimes in the evening, we just wanted to watch a little TV. But guess not. They really didn't seem to care.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Less noise and depending on your location, very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Green Grand Villas at the WGR and the room was just okay. The villa needing some remodeling, felt very dated and not what i expected for a timeshare unit. It was also a good 10-15 minute drive from historic St. Augustine. If you only want to golf, go swimming, and stay indoors it would be a fun stay. We wanted to visit St. Augustine and explore so it was a little disappointing that there weren't really many options for restaurants or entertainment around. Overall just okay. I would recoomend a ned and breakfast if you want to vist historic St. Augustine instead.

Room Tip: It was clean, no room service was available during our stay, out dated, and beds were not very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rukiddinme33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Four couples attending our 1st bike week and we decided to stay at the Grand Villas in St. Augustine away from the biker crowd in Daytona. What a smart decision!!! It was wonderful and relaxing.
We had the same two-bedroom villa described in reviewer Cheri S ("Great Beds, Tubs, Grounds and Service...") review. My husband and I took the room with the 2 beds with the extra large bath. 1st night I relaxed in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine while I watched tv. Not sure if it will matter to anyone else but, I got excited knowing you could see and control the tv from the jacuzzi :)!!! That night I loved all the nice pillows and the comfy bed. Next day we saw how beautiful and inviting the grounds were! I could imagine this being a golfers dream place to stay. Because we were here for bike week we did not use any of the amenties because we spent so much time in Daytona and returned late night. But after riding the motorcycle day after day, it was so nice to come to our relaxing, QUIET, villa. I did take one morning just to sit on the screened-in porch/balcony and enjoy the view (water, birds, golfers). None of us had any complaints, the place was beautiful, clean, relaxing and quiet. Definitely will return to enjoy the resort and St. Augustine more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolbreezeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We cruised out of Pt Canaveral in January and decided that we would to visit the St. Augustine area on the drive home. As new BlueGreen owners, we thought we would stay at the nearby Grande Villas at World Golf Village just to check out another BG property using bonus nights. We were very impressed with our room and the grounds! We did not have time to check out all the amenities but will definitely plan to stay here again. We had a very minor maintenance issue and I only mention it for this reason...After reporting the issue, a gentleman from property maintenance responded within less than 5 minutes. You can't beat that! We have been very happy with BlueGreen Customer Service and not all properties are equal but this is surely one that they can be proud of.

Room Tip: We had a one-bedroom deluxe overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjj444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.0 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
#60 of 78 in St. Augustine
298 reviews
11.7 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
853 reviews
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas at World Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas at World Golf Village

Property: Grande Villas at World Golf Village
Address: 100 Front Nine Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32092-2774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Villas at World Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country club living at Grande Villas at World Golf Village is unsurpassed. This year-round golfer's mecca offers two championship 18-hole courses designed by legendary golf pros Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer. And that's just for starters. There's plenty to do for non-golfers, as well. Practice your backhand on the tennis courts, shoot some hoop on the basketball court, perfect your spike at the volleyball net or pump some iron in the fitness center. After you've worked up a sweat, cool down with some leisurely laps in the spectacular heated pool. The showplace of Grande Villas, the pool is as refreshing to the eyes as it is to swimmers and sunbathers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Villas at World Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas At World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Grande Villas World Golf Village
Grand Villas World Golf Village
Grande World Golf Village Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing