We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Lasagna”

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #265 of 580 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Lasagna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Our service was nice and the food delivered fresh and tasty. The restaurant is hard to see from the road, but it's right behind CVS in the corner of SR312 and US1.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    19
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"...baked until golden brown in our wood-burning oven?" Really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We go to our local Carrabba's every once in awhile and generally enjoy it. Unfortunately, I ordered an entrée, the "Nonna Testa," one of the dishes on the seasonal "fire-finished" menu. It was described as a baked pasta dish, "baked until golden brown in our wood-burning oven." When it arrived, it was anything but baked-looking. Instead, a huge amount of penne seemed to have been hastily boiled, drained, and tossed with the teeniest amount of vegetables and, honestly, less than a third of a chicken breast cut in little strips (which could have been "fire-finished," but who could tell?), Worse, there was absolutely no evidence that the dish had ever been in an oven at all (except that the dish was hot). There was no caramelization, no evidence that anything resembling fire had ever come near the food. It tasted ok, but I try not to order dishes out that I could easily make at home. When I expressed disappointment to our waiter, he was great, and of course it wasn't his fault...then a kitchen manager came and spoke to us and offered to comp the meal, which was the right thing to do. No complaints there. But someone in that kitchen messed up and the mess up was not caught and corrected. The manager called it a "misunderstanding." I am not buying that; if anyone misunderstood, it was the person cooking who does not understand the meaning of ":baked." The kitchen staff needs more schooling or Carrabba's needs to change their menu descriptions so they're not misleading to the customers who can actually cook and know what oven-baked pasta looks like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Is one off are favorite italian restaurant , great food , great service , i love the mussels appetizer !!
We will be always fun of carrabas

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dream2013_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better training needed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We use to go to this location on a weekly basis. Service has changed a lot and the familiar faces we were use to seeing are gone. Now, we might go once a month if that to find that our server/bartender isn't too familiar with the "off" menu items. Kitchen staff making it wrong or server not paying much attention. Even curbside isn't the same, not as fast and not as friendly as it use to be. We do like your food and drinks, just need to have people that care.

Helpful?
Thank JAllen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, service less so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent food; however, our experience was somewhat spoiled by the waiter who started off very poorly. In fact we had to speak to the manager about his attitude and get the manager to fix the problem that we had asked the waiter to deal with (and he didn't), which the manager did very efficiently. I suspect he spoke to the waiter after out complaint as things improved dramatically after that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AncalagonTheBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing