We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous dining here”

Villagio Bar and Grill
Ranked #325 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $12 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Villagio Italian Grille, located inside The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort. Farm to fork fresh right to your table. Indigenous, independent, and indulging. Great food, great atmosphere and great service.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a treat to dine in this restaurant and bar/grill also..
chef Alberto Avila and his staff are to be complimented on the quality of fresh local produce they use and the superior quality of local meats.
Their recipes make you feel you are at someone's home and the mother is cooking..excellent cuisine here!!!!!
The serving staff are very knowledgeable about the menu and friendly.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding...
we look forward to repeat visits!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ongreatlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Manager at Villagio Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Villagio Italian Grille. Chef Alberto is one of the best and I am so glad you were able to enjoy some of his masterful dishes. We work hard to train our serving staff to be the best and its rewarding that you were able to have a memorable experience. If you are ever in the area again please dont hesitate to visit us again.

Thank you,

Ian Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“average breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Disappointingly, there are only 3 (expensive) restaurants at World Golf Village and only one serves a Sunday buffet. After a bit of effort we located the Villagio Italian Grille in the Renaissance Hotel. The offerings were pretty standard fare--lots of breads and muffins, fruit, bacon, sausage and cereal. A chef was available to prepare custom omelets. At $18 apiece, the buffet seemed overpriced for what it offered. The wait staff could not have been more accomodating or friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise! It's good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mini hotdogs, flat bread pizzas, calamari, and drinks all above average. And the staff and bartenders where very good to us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Over-Priced Food, Service Needs Work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I dined here two nights in a row. The food was good, but not for the prices charged. (I'm not comparing it to Shoney's but to other hotel restaurants of the same caliber)

The service needed work. It ranged from cool to downright rude. The servers seemed to be miserable and seemed to hate each other and their jobs. The vibes that they were giving off were palpable.

The flat bread pizza was pretty good, the chicken dish I had was so-so. My companion had a pasta dish both nights and said it was good, but nothing special.

I'd eat there again, but wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovescabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Manager at Villagio Bar and Grill, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While I am glad that you were able to enjoy the food I am dissapointed that the prices and service were not up to your expectations. At the Renaissance and the Villagio we strive to be the best in the service industry and will take this opportunity to improve upon every aspect of our restaurant. I hope that if you are ever in the NE part of Florida again you will give us another opportunity to WOW you with service and quality of food. I can personally gurantee that your experience is not typical at the Villagio and would love to have the chance to serve you again.

Thank you

Ian Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't expect service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped by the previous day and told no reservations needed for the following night. Showed up, tons of empty tables and informed they were all reserved. Rudely told we could order in the bar, sat down and no one waited on us for 20 minutes, in fact didn't see any servers. We left so can't rate the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Manager at Villagio Bar and Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to share your problem with us so we can work on improving immediately. I am troubled that you had to experience these service flaws and can promise that these issues are far from typical of the Villagio. We strive to be one of the best in the serving industry and I will work hard to use these comments to train the staff, from the host to the servers, everyone will improve to avoid this happening again!

If you are in the Northeast Florida area again I hope that you decide to give us another try so we can show you exactly who we typically are!

Outlets Manager
Ian Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villagio Bar and Grill also viewed

St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Villagio Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing