We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaybird's Restaurant

Jaybird's Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 572 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned and operated, fresh, made Pizza to order Voted Best Breakfast in St. Augustine. Serving breakfast 7:00 am till 2:00 pm lunch starts 10:30 and dinner till 9:00 pm. Happy hour daily 4:00 pm till 7:00 pm Full Bar. Beer, wine, great selections on beers on tap featured IPA on tap, Appetizers, daily, nightly Chef specials. Salads, Steaks, Pasta, Fish. Homemade desserts. Hour of operation: Breakfast 7:00 am till 2:00 pm Lunch 10:30 am till 3:00 pm Dinner 3:00 pm till 9:00 pm Friday, Saturday till 10:00 pm Sundays Breakfast all day till 3:00 pm Sunday closed for dinner.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location and outdoor seating. Food was so good we ate their twice during our stay! Burgers were huge and fries were fresh cut! Had steak and shrimp the next time. They make their own steak sauce that was soooo yummy! Fresh squeezed lemonade and the desserts were just the icing on the cake! Family friendly and the outside eating area is pet friendly! We'll be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvdabeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    183
    87
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
310 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stopped here on the way back from the outlet mall. Good iced tea. Her Itaian sandwich had a ridiculous amount of meat and my Cuban sandwich was the best I've ever had. (I've only had three.) Our server was very nice and stayed on top of us the whole time. Mostly. When it came time for our check, she disappeard for a while. Union contracts being what they are, probably got a 15 minute break.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plentiful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a recommendation from the front desk of The Cozy Inn, we tried Jaybirds and were very pleased with our generously portioned breakfast. Service was great and food quality topnotch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncgolfer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tried this place out today for brunch. Very nice service. Omelet was great, not greasy at all. Fast service even though it was about half full and we were a table of 7. Pleased and we'll be back to eat again. Only complaint, and it's a small one, is that the maple syrup tasted like Log Cabin and not real maple syrup.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelW0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were 8 people for dinner at Jaybirds. The food was average to good all around. I ordered the burger medium but got it well done. It was still a good burger though. The service was pretty average too, not too bad, but not excellent either. And we were the only ones there at that time.

When we had to pay, we presented the waiter with coupons that would give us a 10% discount on the bill. The waiter informed us that we could only use one coupon per table. However, it did not say anything like that on the coupon. In other words, they were making up a rule on the spot. They then told us that we had to present the coupon at the time of order (which was correct, it did say that on the coupon), and if we had done so, they would have then informed us that we could only use one coupon per table. In other words, if we had followed the instructions on the coupon, they would have then made up another rule (that was not on the coupon) to make sure that we wouldn't get the discount.

We argued that they couldn't make up rules like that without it being printed on the coupon but they basically told us that it's their restaurant and they can do what they want. 10% isn't a big deal for us, it's more about the way the manager treated us. So instead of just giving us the discount and having us walk away satisfied, we are now 8 people that won't go to Jaybirds again. Which is a shame, because the food wasn't actually that bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yage22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaybird's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jaybird's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing