We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast and Courtyard in St. Augustine”

Jaybird's Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family owned and operated. Voted Best Breakfast in St. Augustine. Full Bar, Wine, great selections of beers on tap, featured IPA on tap. Appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, wraps, wings, hand-tossed pizza, pasta, fish, homemade desserts. Indoor or outdoor seating. Hours of operation - Open 7 days a week: Breakfast 7:00 am - 2:00 pm Lunch 10:30 am - 2:00 pm
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast and Courtyard in St. Augustine”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Jaybird's easily earns the highest recommendation, with a terrific menu, friendly staff, and charming courtyard dining (complete with a quaint waterfall. In a town full of courtyards, this one takes the cake!) We've sampled the breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, and all have several standouts. For breakfast, don't miss the Eggs Benedict (perfect hollandaise sauce!) or the Huevos Rancheros (just spicy enough for the right kick). For lunch, we loved the Caprese sandwich with homemade mozzarella and homemade basil pesto on top notch bread. For dinner, we loved the vegetarian Orecchiette pasta (with especially excellent broccoli and sundried tomatoes, this is a surprisingly tasty dish. It's a tad spicier than I'd normally prefer, but I didn't ask if it could be prepared milder because I was too busy marveling at the deliciousness).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    188
    89
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Breakfast is served until 2pm, so it's great for late risers. The egg was a little runny for my taste, but edible. The pancakes are fluffy and delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CGA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a nice surprise! Love the Blueberry/Cranberry/Walnut pancake. Have just one, though! Dine on the courtyard.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsauls93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't say enough great things about Jaybird's”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

But I will try, so here goes (in order of observation upon entering the restaurant): The interior is amazing; the building used to be an IHOP but it was gutted and every square inch COMPLETELY renovated. I love the photography wall art (the photographer is actually a family member of the owners) and the red suade cushions on the chairs are very comfy. It is clear that a lot of thought went into the interior decorating. The breakfast and lunch menus are extensive and offer a few unique spins on some common dishes, for example, the crunchy french toast (it was the 1st thing I tried at Jaybird's and it's DELICIOUS). I also highly recommend a bowl of the Special Green Chili with the chicken quesadilla. The hot chocolate is made with REAL Ghirardelli chocolate. We've actually been to Jaybird's several times now and everything we've tried has been SO good. The servers we've met have been especially friendly and knowledgable about the menu; the owners, who greet at the door and even seat customers, are very personable and remembered our faces on our 2nd visit! The restaurant includes a deli / bakery counter and bar inside as well as an outdoor patio... I already can't wait until spring so that I can enjoy a meal out there. In the interest of keeping this review shorter than a novel, if you haven't tried Jaybird's yet, just go... you won't regret it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Breakfast at Jaybird's Restaurant was a very nice dining experience. The staff was friendly and seated us right away, even though the restaurant was "packed" with travelers and locals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaybird's Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Jaybird's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing