We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Authentic Japanese Cuisine”
Review of Sakada

Sakada
Ranked #302 of 590 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Japanese Cuisine”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I arrived in St. Augustine on January 23 for an Air Force reunion and decided to take one of the trolley tours. As we passed the Nombre de Dios Catholic Church, I saw this restaurant and decided to submit to a craving for Japanese food. After the tour ended, I returned to Sakura and was pleasantly surprised to find that Sakura serves authentic Japanese cuisine, something rare on the southeast coast of the United States. I ordered the Shrimp Tempura plate and, even though I was tempted, opted to forego the miso soup and had a salad instead. I very much enjoyed the meal and will probably visit again the next time I am in St. Augustine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drivernjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    25
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stumbled on to this restaurant as it was the closest to where we were staying (Holiday Inn).

Have eaten sushi and sashimi in a number of cities around the world. The food at Sakura was very good. We both had the Sushi and Sashimi Combo which was served with Miso Soup. Along with a little wine and beer it made for a very enjoyable night. Service was also very good, attentive but not hovering. What we did fine unique was that although primarily a Japanese restaurant, our waitress was not. She was a local Caucasian.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good sushi and friendly service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Being a local, we eat here pretty frequently. The service is great and the food consistently good. Try the "BMW roll", it's outstanding.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

There's not much open on Christmas Day in the tourist haven of Saint Augustine; but, there are plenty of people about......visiting the fort, looking at mainly shuttered shops, visiting the Alligator Farm, Fountain of Youth etc. Even the little red trolleys take the day off. Fast food for the most part: closed.

That's why stumbling across Sakura on San Marco Drive just past the antiques district and Ripley's was a real find. The charming interior was modestly decorated with Asian aromas circulating throughout. Both Hibachi and traditional menus are offered.
The hostess was prompt and efficient as we were among the first visitors of the day. The menu offers a wide variety from appetizers to sushi, with entrees along the lines of standard Chinese/Japanese fare.
Service was excellent. The owners came by to be certain all was in order. Most of the diners were Asian at midday.

The Sushi ordered included three different rolls and all received excellent--outstanding marks for freshness and ingredients. The hot n' sour soup was quite distinctive and not too sour. The appetizer beef Negamaki was a good sized portion of tasty, small beef rounds stuffed with scallions in a light teriyaki sauce.
The larger menu loomed interesting but we had other plans for dinner later and decided to go light; however, there was a firm but delicate hand in the kitchen with an eye to perfection. Judging from what we saw come out of the kitchen, fresh ingredients are the norm.
The service translated the same philosophy which is why we'll return on days other than Christmas.

Parking on side and behind the restaurant is plentiful. The price is perhaps a tad high for the fare, but well within the norms for a traditional Asian menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant. We eat here at least once a week. I tried sushi all over town and was about to give up when we discovered Sakura. All the food is so fresh, generous portions (unless you're looking for Golden Corral type dining), wonderful presentation. The staff is marvelous; they got to know us within a very short time and make us feel very welcome. They have introduced us to several new types of sake, and just started offering some very nice sake cocktails (don't miss the sake-tini!!). Don't be deceived by the modest exterior - Sakura is a gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakada also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Sakada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing