We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ is Very Good!”
Review of Mojo Old City BBQ

Mojo Old City BBQ
Ranked #29 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BBQ is Very Good!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the very good places in the City. Very good BBQ and especially love the sides. Bang-Bang shrimp is the best value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paradise1140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    340
    120
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am not very into BBQ, but I just happened to run into this place by accident. Spur of the moment thing. The place was beautiful and opens up to a huge dining room. The food took close to 5 minutes to get to our table, which is certainly very fast, even if it is BBQ. This has to be the best I have ever had, and I have had my share. The sweet, and spicy mix was great. I had the Carolina Pork which came with a Carolina Slaw. Awesome!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austincoursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Good food in tourist area”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited based on reviews which are right on. Near tourist centre, and easy to find. The place is big, my only complaint is it is very dark inside and noise travels. We were seated right away for lunch. Server was very friendly. We ordered the pulled pork & brisket. The pulled pork was good, slightly on the dry side but the brisket was out of this world, it was tasty and so tender it easily broke into pieces. There are sauces on the table tried all except vinegar, tHey were average except for the sweet sauce which my wife and I loved. There are lots of choices for sides, the collard greens were good but the best tasting one was the mashed sweet potatoes which had brown sugar and spices. There is a lunch menu which is reasonable. Portions are average. There is a child's menu which is also reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"BEST BBQ IN ST. AUGUSTINE"”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We can't say enough good things about our dining experience at MOJO OLD CITY BBQ. While walking around the city, the smell of the BBQ attracted our attention. From the start, we were treated as "guests", not customers. Our server was one of the best and could work for me, anytime!
The food quality and quantity were top-notch. I even brought a doggie-bag back to our hotel!
We had a great meal for a very reasonable price with fantastic service, We will recommend this place to all of our family and friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BDBKTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex,NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quality BBQ”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We made a quick stop in St. Augustine and choose MOJO based on the reviews. The food and service lived up to the ratings. We enjoyed the ribs, pork shoulder with the highlight for me being the Texas style beef sausage that I topped with mustard sauce. The collards were tender yet not overcooked and not greasy. Our lunch plates were served quickly. In what seemed a overload of tourist trap food spots MOJO stood out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italy05with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojo Old City BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mojo Old City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing