We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mojo Old City BBQ

Mojo Old City BBQ
Ranked #29 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Enjoyed a late lunch here on 7/20. The food was excellent, as was the service. Wonderful place to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    337
    119
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My daughter and I were in St. Augustine visiting friends. They recommended Mojo and we weren't disappointed! The smell was irresistible as we approached the restaurant. We were seated immediately. They have a lot of seating and have a bar area as well. The atmosphere was nice ... just nothing special about it.

I ordered the Fried Pickle appetizer and the Smokehouse Chicken "Specialty" Sandwich with a side of BBQ Pit Beans. The Fried Pickles were served with Buttermilk Ranch and were so tasty. The sandwich was nothing, but delicious. The beans were yummy. Not the best I've ever had, but a close second. We all shared bites of our appetizers and entrees. My friend had the Kansas City Burnt Ends, which is beef brisket. OMG! I've never had brisket so good. This was actually an appetizer, but he ordered it with a few sides and had that as his meal. So delicious! For one of his sides, he had Sweet Potato Mash. It was delicious and sweet ... like a dessert. My other friend had the Pulled Pork Quesadilla appetizer. I've never had anything like it before. The meat was so tender and good. Everything I had that day was memorable.

A few of my friends had a couple things they weren't excited about. The green beans side wasn't bad, but they didn't find anything special about it. The cornbread was described as bland. I didn't try these myself for a first hand accounting.

If you are in St. Augustine, do not miss this place. It's directly across the street from the Tolomato Cemetary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
320 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Too Darn Loud!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food here is delicious, but it was so noisy inside we couldn't even hear each other. We couldn't get out fast enough. We came in late so the place was pretty well emptied after a very busy evening. We should have sat outside, but didn't. The bar crowd on the other end was loud, as was the not very good live band. We sat at the far end, away from the noise but it was still unbearable. We considered taking our food to go before it arrived.
That said, the food was very good. I had pulled pork, mashed sweet potatoes and roasted corn, all excellent. The Fried Green Tomatoes were crispy and came with a spicy sauce. Others orders were well presented and tasty as well.
I would recommend sitting outside or taking your order to go for a more enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had just arrived in St. Augustine for a few days and we were exploring around historic district for dinner when we came across a wonderful smell and decided to investigate. After checking out the menu we went in and I'm glad we did. We were seated immediately and our waitress answered our many questions about the menu. She had a great attitude and enthusiasm. The beer was cold, the rib tips fabulous. Everyone was happy with their selections. I would definitely return and recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A fellow guest at our inn recommended this place as the "best BBQ" she'd ever had. It lived up to the expectation. We went for lunch and even the lunch portions were quite filling. I had the smoked turkey (very tender) with sides of Mac and Cheese (perfectly creamy and cheesy) and Sweet Potato Mash (good, not overly sweet). Oh, and I got the cornbread which had a little jalapeno flavor to it (though not spicy). Loved it. Hubby got the North Carolina pulled pork which has more of the vinegar flavor to it, and he enjoyed it (I enjoyed my taste of it as well) and this was the pork the other guest had recommended. My husband loved all the different BBQ sauces, especially the sweet and chipotle. He also got the Mac and Cheese. And he got fries which were good. Service was fast. Bathroom was clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colormecrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojo Old City BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Mojo Old City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing