We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great coffee - just like home!”
Review of The Kookaburra

The Kookaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Aussie themed Coffee/Pie shop. Serving excellent Bold!Bean espresso and coffee, frozen frappes, specialty teas, and delicious Aussie meat pies and treats.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really great coffee - just like home!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

So, at the risk of offending North American readers, the coffee in the USA and Canada leaves ALOT to be desired. I went to this place, hopeful for a great cup, and I got it. It tasted just like a flat white from Melbourne, and that is pretty high praise. 4 stars instead of 5 because, even though their lamingtons were tasty, I felt they were overpriced, and the brownies too soft. I went back very day I was in St Augustine and savoured my Australian style coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    60
    37
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My flat white was great!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Kookaburra with my family a few weeks ago. I had a flat white coffee. It was delicious and different than anything you can get at other coffee shops in Florida. Next time I stop in, I plan to try the iced coffee and a veggie pie!

Helpful?
Thank RetroUltraModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best hot chocolate ever!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice tour of nights of lights! Perfect stop for a treat! Sunday was toppings day! We got peppermint!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenbyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My daughter and I went here to get a coffee and leave. Kaylor couldn't have been nicer when we couldn't decide what to drink. We ended up with Pumpkin Chai; the best we ever had and stayed and chatted with her. We returned the following evening again. If your looking for great coffee, tea, etc, you must try this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda5251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice coffee stop”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Tiny coffee shop is worth the stop. The staff is very knowledgeable and work to see your order is done right.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank addyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kookaburra also viewed

 

Been to The Kookaburra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing