We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best coffee and teas I've found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kookaburra

The Kookaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout
Description: Aussie themed Coffee/Pie shop. Serving excellent Bold!Bean espresso and coffee, frozen frappes, specialty teas, and delicious Aussie meat pies and treats.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best coffee and teas I've found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I go several times a week! It's the best coffee I've ever found. They have a unique coffee called the "Aussie Iced Coffee" that is outrageously delicious - try it. I also get Chi Soy latte and lately peach flavored black tea - YUM! I also love all the people I meet there, great meeting place. I get a card for punching and get the 5th drink free.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    55
    35
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tasty Meat Pie & Friendly Owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We shared a meat pie for a snack and really enjoyed the flavorful and flaky crust. This pie brought back memories of the meat pies I enjoyed throughout my travels in Australia.

We also enjoyed a long chat with Spencer, the owner of The Kookaburra. As it turns out, his mother is Australian, so that is how the business idea was hatched.

Good luck, Spencer!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineK-SunCity-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped by Kookaburra cafe one hot afternoon in St Augustine, drawn in by the Aussie name (being Aussies ourselves). Husband had the iced coffee which he inhaled in seconds and I had a delicious home made lemonade.

Super friendly staff. Stop by here instead of going to one of the run of the mill tourist money grabbers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the meat pies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little hole in the wall near the cathedral and I had to check it out after all the incredible reviews! I got a ground sirloin meat pie and a peachee drink and they were incredible! 5 star must have!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great selection, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went in to get a pick me up during the middle of the day. This place has a very nice décor, especially with the Australian theme. The pastries are made by the gourmet cupcake place next door, so you know they're good. The meat pies looked great too. The coffee selection was superb, and the woman behind the counter really seemed to know her stuff. She answered all of our questions and made an awesome frozen latte with a touch of chocolate. Great place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ucfbeerknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kookaburra also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Kookaburra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing