We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Popsicles.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hyppo Cafe

The Hyppo Cafe
Ranked #15 of 40 Dessert in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hyppo Café is St. Augustine's spot for Bold Bean espresso, fresh original sandwiches, cold drip coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, Hugo's muffins, agave sodas, a full range of delightful confections, and of course our acclaimed gourmet popsicles... made with fresh whole fruits and herbs and lovingly frozen by our first rate popsicologists.
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Popsicles.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten several times at their "downtown" location. Excellent. First time visiting the Cafe at their SR312 location. Just as good, and more flavors from which to choose.

Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WasHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Save room for a popsicle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A new addition to the already amazing Popsicle joint I love to frequent! I went there for lunch with a friend after hearing about what a delicious experience many of my friends had.
The building is big and bright and open and there are lots of comfy places to sit. I ordered a Chai Latte that was so creamy and yummy. For lunch I had the pork sandwich with fig spread and sprouts accompanied by an apple slaw. Delicious!! I saved room for desert and tried a avocado coconut popsicle. A truly unique combination! I will defiantly be back to try more of the sandwiches and frozen treats!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our new favorite lunch spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I live in St. Augustine, and we have a number of unique and tasty restaurants, but the Hyppo Cafe is the new favorite lunch spot of my husband and myself. The decor is spacious, vintage/rustic with a modern edge, we've had almost every menu item by now (we seem to be going there a lot lately!) and all are tasty. The menu is somewhat limited to under 10 delicious sandwich combinations and several salads, but is beefed up with wonderful gourmet popsicles and tempting desserts! The coffee and teas, both hot and iced, are also wonderful. The service is cheerful, but a little slow...so slow down, relax and talk while you wait. We think this restaurant is a home run...and all at fast food prices!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripqueenflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“service was lacking a bit ..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cool concept ,reminds me of NY with a Floridian feel , nice space and interesting menu choices. I like that the menu is not crowded with sandwich choices , really makes it easy on you. However, the service was a bit slow, lunch hour was crowded but only 2 people working and 2 things were forgotten on our order. i am definitely willing to give them another chance. Like every new place , there are always some bumps in the road and i am sure they will figure it all out. Yummy molasses cookies and funky sodas (watermelon cream? yum!) .I had the Goat , very good and hubby had the grilled cheese. Nice fruit salad cup too.One big minus is no changing table in the otherwise very big bathroom, please get one asap.Otherwise i will not be able to come here at all...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sashaa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Creative Popsicles and Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went to the new Hyppo cafe and tried their delicious popsicles. They have flavors like, Fresh Coconut, Datil Pepper Strawberry, Champagne Mango, Mango Habanero, Pear Riesling, Pineapple Cilantro and many more all made with fruit and lots of it. They are wonderful and a great way to cool off on a hot summer day.

This cafe also has coffee, bakery items, salads and sandwiches. The baked goods all look very good. The sandwich menu is loaded with creative combinations like the Re-Reuben-corned beef with melted Gruyere and apple slaw on marble rye bread or the Summer Salad Sammy- with fresh mozzarella, cucumber, tomato, sprouts and balsamic vinaigrette on multi grain bread.

Give this place a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tobykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyppo Cafe also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to The Hyppo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing