We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveler rating
735
207
54
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
207
54
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta mariaparking garagerocking chairsbagelsperfect locationseveral buildingsyour luggageold townpeople watchshared balconythird floorbalcony overlookingroom was largeno elevatorcoffee makerfortschoolhouse
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Stayed here for 1 night in July 2006. We arrived early and were given access to our room before the designated time, first impressions of the staff and hotel were excellent. We had a family room which was a good size and well appointed with large bathroom.

Outside the room was a balcony with rocking chairs which the kids loved. The location is excellent and although there is no on-site parking as mentioned before there is a new multi-storey facility across the road. Staff were very helpful and offered lots of info about the local area.

There are plenty of shops, restaurants etc nearby although many do seem to close early which was a surprise as there were plenty of people around.

Another surprise was the number of homeless people/drunks? hanging around, I also saw one of them having an altercation with a local shop keeper.

The breakfast was a strange affair, I thought a small selection and no designated room to eat in, there was no cereal which to me is a basic requirement especially when you have kids. The only other minor disappointment was the wi-fi access which only seemed to work near the reception and certainly nowhere near my room. Personally this is something that I would like to see improved.

There will not be many people disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

There is a reason this is (as of this writing) the #1 hotel in St. Aug. on Tripadvisor. From the location to the staff service, we really felt as if we had the best hotel room in the town. As far as location: in the words of one of the innkeepers "you will be where people who stay in other hotels will drive to visit." Our room overlooked the city gates and the Castillo de San Marcos was within a few hundred yards. Art galleries, the tour bus/train stops, chocolate shops, great food and countless other attractions were all around us. The room itself featured a very comfortable king-sized bed with pillows like clouds. There were well appointed details in the bathroom and sitting area. A quiet air-conditioner unit cooled us off from the heat of the day. From our rocking chairs on the shared balcony we could see the visitor's center and one of the many historic cemeteries popular with ghost tours. The innkeepers really helped us feel at home by helping us with all of our luggage, giving the local scoop on the best dining, directions, getting our ice, providing a crib for our 3 month old, handing us a St. George's Inn umbrella for our stroll (just in case--they said & they were right) and providing a generous continental breakfast (no eggs, bacon, etc. but quite a good start to the day). We will be back ready to explore St. Aug with the St. George as our home base!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank stanleyimaging-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We just returned from a mid-week 3 day getaway to the St. George Inn. All of our expectations were exceeded! The grounds and room were spotless. The staff were all very nice and helpful.
In all my excusions through the 'old town' part of the city, I never saw another inn with a better location! If you are wanting to stay in, and explore the old town area, this is THE place to stay! To get to the beach would be a short car ride, but we weren't interested in seeing the beaches area. We enjoyed good seafood at Tavern On The Bay, and Barnicle Bills, both a short 5-7 minute walk from the inn.
There is no onsite parking. The city has recently built a multi-level parking garage a short 3 minute walk from the inn, although you can unload and load your car right at the inn. They were promoting the new garage as 'Free parking in July' when we were there. If it matters to you, I would check with the inn to see if there will be a parking fee.
One thing that took us a bit by surprise is the hours kept by alot of the stores. Most in the old town area do not open untill 11am and close about 5pm.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended the St. George Inn to several of our friends and neighbors!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

This place has all the charm of a B&B, but more privacy and bigger rooms. Located right on the edge of the historic district. We stayed in a Santa Monica (Rm 22 has the most-private balconey). Worth every penny for our anniversary! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TampaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews