We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and are residents of St. Augustine and recently stayed at The St. George Inn for my birthday and anniversary. We wanted a relaxing venue to enjoy the city and to take in the ambience of the city without the hassle of driving.

The St. George Inn located in the historic section of St. Augustine filled our needs wonderfully. Located at the North City Gates the entire historic distinct was at our door step with restaurants, entertainment and historic sites all within easy walking distance.

The inn,s courtyard is beautify relaxing. The balcony overlooking St. George St. offers wonderful views of the city and a great place to sit and people watch.

Irving and his entire staff at the inn are friendly, attentive to any and all of your needs to ensure your stay with them is memorable. The room was very comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. I would strongly recommend the St. George Inn for your visit to St. Augustine. I know my wife will be back when we need another relaxing venue!

Room Tip: Choose room 23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 951 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Front desk staff were fantastic! They gave us great directions to the garage, brought our bags up to the room, and walked us to our room upon arrival. We noticed immediately there was a strong musty smell in our room. Everything was very clean and tidy, but the smell suggested otherwise. This is our only complaint. We were in room 16. The view from our balcony was great! The location of this hotel really can't be beat, all the shops and restaurants are right around the corner. Breakfast selection was minimal, but fresh. Awesome Rusk products in the bathrooms and Starbucks coffee in each room as well. Great stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The room was spacious, comfortable, and very conveniently located - just inside the Old City Gates. The continental breakfast was less-than-inspired, but what really set this place apart was the service. I had booked us for 2 nights, while thinking we were staying for three. When management learned of the error, and was unable to allow us to stay there since they were full that third night, the innkeeper and his staff leapt into action. They found us a king-bed room in a competitor's hotel two blocks away, moved all of our luggage, let us keep our car where it had been parked, and even PAID for the new room ( I declined this when I checked into the new hotel and learned of this arrangement, paying for the room myself). The way Mr Cass handled this situation gives new meaning to the words " generous" and " hospitality". Can't speak highly enough of him and his staff. Check this place out!! We'll certainly be back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Have not been her in a couple of years. Can't beat the location. A close walk to one of my favorites The Mill Top. The rooms were clean, staff was courteous. My wife didn't like the wheel chair accesible shower, but I didn't mind it. Free parking in the lot 2 blocks over.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz091967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

You simply cannot beat the location of this inn. Put simply, it made touring easy. St. Augustine's tourist attractions are located in a very compact area and we were able to walk to virtually every location, with some being mere steps from our room, including the Castillo de San Marco which we viewed from our room. This convenience also allowed us to tour at a more leisurely pace since it saved us from hopping in and out of the car for every stop. The hotel charges a flat fee of $5 per day for you to park in the city garage just a few steps away, and you can come and go as you please for this rate. It should be noted that this particular garage charges others $10 per entry, even if you leave and re-enter on the same day.

We were pleased with the very spacious Nina room on the top floor with two Queen beds. It was very clean, with tile floors throughout, and quiet, despite the fact that we were literally off of St. George Street. We had three windows, with views of the Castillo (over which we saw a gorgeous sunrise), the oldest wooden schoolhouse, and the courtyard with some shops and the outdoor breakfast eating area.

The breakfast was certainly adequate, with muffins, bagels, croissants, fruit, yogurt, deli meat and cheese, coffee, tea, OJ and hot chocolate. The location of the Inn allowed for easy options for lunch and dinner too, since there are many great restaurants within walking distance.

The staff was accommodating, and checking-in with our luggage and parking the car was made easy by following the directions we received upon booking our reservation. All in all, a highly recommended Inn. The only reason we are giving 4 stars for the room is that the door locks seemed a little flimsy for a room that has external exposure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibertyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The room was great and the staff was more than happy to help my family and I with everything and anything we needed. But in the morning when you're trying to sleep and get ready for your action filled day in St. Augustine, all we could hear is the dinging and ringing of the Oldest Wood Schoolhouse Bell. Though we stayed right above the Schoolhouse, the noise was still unbearable in the mornings. I do understand that the St. George Inn does not have any control over the bell, but I do not recommend any room that is in sight with the Schoolhouse. Other than that, the hotel was a joy to stay at, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose a room near the Oldest Wood Schoolhouse unless you'd like to hear the bell your wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for a weekend, going down to St. Augustine for a wedding. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay! The location is fantastic, we walked around everywhere and so convenient to get to the wedding location off of Saint George Street. The people at the reception desk were very nice and helpful. The room was very spacious, clean and had a nice B&B feel, just what we needed! We saw a lot of people dressed in pirate outfits (?) that weekend and it seemed as if we would have heard the party going on outside, but while in the room we heard nothing, slept very peacefully! In the morning they had a nice continental breakfast available for us: Bagels, yogurt, cheese, deli meat, fruit, sweet cakes, etc. One of the mornings we wanted eggs instead and right there opposite to our building was a nice cafe that offered hot breakfast sandwiches. Perfect! So overall very nice stay, we enjoyed the great location and feel of this hotel, would go back for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed at the St. George room and it was great! Our view was of the fort across the street and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RapaNui1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $203 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing