We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Louisa,Ky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a great place to stay in St. Augustine. It was a very easy check in. We just pulled to the front and we were met and our bags taken inside for us. Our room was upstairs and overlooked the old schoolhouse. We enjoyed sitting out on tHe deck. The room was EXTREMLY clean and comforting. After we returned home we realized we had left an item we had purchased for our home. We called and they had the item and graciously mailed it to us. We will stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zadear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    190
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
218
497
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved the location of the Inn, just across the street from the fort and within easy walking distance of the waterfront and historic district. The staff is very friendly and quick to help us with our requests. The rooms are large and the balconies are a bonus. However, there are a few things they could do to improve the experience. Our room was a bit musty, and it hits you every time you enter the room. You get used to it after a few minutes, but they should try to fix this. The mattress on the king bed was soft and seemed to be covered in plastic. The pillows were lumpy. The shower ran out of hot water after a few minutes. Parking is in a garage two blocks away. Even with these disappointments, we still liked the Inn, but will likely try another one for comparison should we return.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered in several buildings around a courtyard. If you need an elevator, you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

First of all, let's talk about the only two downsides to the Santiago at St. George Inn. Checking in and parking: The Inn doesn't have a parking lot. You must pull into the yellow lines in the median of the street to go check in. They will give you a pass to use for the parking garage.....about a block away. Next, the wireless internet was sketchy at best. We were kicked off numerous times. That being said, if you're coming to St. Augustine you probably won't be spending much time on the computer. Now for the good stuff. The staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful. The room was awesome. The air conditioner worked great. The room was large. The sink was in the room and not in the bathroom where you would expect, but no big deal. And even though one side of the room faced the street, it was extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable. And when you walk out of the inn you are right in the historic district. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our first trip to saint Augustine, so we were looking for a place we could park and just roam around. Great Location. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly. The Balcony’s look inviting but if you are not a smoker you will share them with smokers—also—I would suggest the penta rooms overlooking the old school house—I believe these units would be a much quitter location .. Overall good experience but a bit pricey

Room Tip: get a room overlooking old school house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the St. George Inn one night as we were passing through St. Augustine. This is a lovely inn - right in the middle of the downtown shops. Our room was above Kilwins fudge shop. Needless to say, the aroma was unbelievable. The rooms are wonderful. The staff was super. My only complaint would be that the folks leaving the bars late were a little loud. This wasn't a major problem for me but could be for some people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA BEACH
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My sister and I recently visited St. Augustine and found the St. George Inn. We had a wonderful room upstairs with a balcony overlooking the shops below. The staff went above and beyond to be so accommodating. The room was full of great little extras and the free breakfast in the morning was just perfect. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to family and friends - you will not be disappointed. Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHERINE1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We usually stay at the Westcott House but wanted a change. This was great. Especially the location of room 22. The balcony has a view of the fort, old city gates and Matanzas river. We cancelled our fancy anniversary dinner out, and got shrimp n grits to go from the Florida Cracker Cafe nearby and ate on the balcony while the sunset. Great. The room itself was nice. Breakfast fine. Staff very helpful. The room is in the middle of it all, not a serene get-away. Not noisy on a Mon-Wed stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
4.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Property: St. George Inn
Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing