We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love and can't wait go back!”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We first heard of the St. George Inn on Tripadvisor, so our expectations were very high when we arrived at the Inn. Not only did the accommodations and staff meet our expectations, but every part of our stay was fantastic and the experience far exceeded our hopes. A friendly and hospitable staff, clean, unique and updated rooms with comfortable beds all wrapped into the charm of St. Augustine. Our room was peaceful and we felt like we were alone in the Inn. Unlike a few reviews, we found the place to be very quiet with the exception of hearing street cleaners in the morning. We highly recommend the St. George Inn! Our only fear in recommending them is that they might get too busy for us to get a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 938 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in a Castillo suite....room 41. This is on a 2nd and 3rd floor giving a balcony view of Castillo de San Marcos and also the Old Mill restaurant. The room was large and well lit and nicely furnished. The bedroom and bathroom are located up a spiral staircase. The bathroom has a shower plus a whirlpool/jacuzzi type tub. WiFi signal was strong as well.

A surprisingly nice breakfast is provided. It included croissants, bagels, several breads, cheese, cereal, and some sliced meats plus coffee, tea, and orange juice.

Be aware of the spiral stair if you have issues with that and the room is located up a flight of stairs. I found both quite nice. In the evening, the Mill restaurant had a live singer,who was very good and could be heard on the balcony but not really inside the room. In any event, he ended by 11pm so you I don't see a noise issue.

The location is very nice for walking.....right on St George street and once I parked my car in the new city garage...that's where it stayed until I left. The price of a suite might be a bit high, but you do get excellent location and are not in one of those cookie cutter chain hotels. Just be aware that there are some quirks here like the spiral stairs, 2nd and 3rd floor split level, and that the inn's rooms are located above shops in several buildings. You will hear some noise, but you will be in the middle of the fun and history.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is well located and has quirky charm. Casual, but attentive staff. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is a good value. It is not the Ritz, but St. Aug is not a Ritz-type place. We enjoyed that the area got quiet at night. We were within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family and I stayed for two days at the St. George Inn and absolutely loved it. The room we stayed in (in the building across from the Mill Tavern with a view of the fort) was a suite and immaculately kept. There was a beautiful wrap around porch that looked freshly painted and had a fantastic breeze, even on the hottest days. The view on both sides was great--one side was the city street where you could people watch, and the other was of the fort and marina.

The only downside to our stay was the noise level--to be fair, it was typical for a stay in mid-city. On Saturday evening, the bars around us played very loud music until 11pm, and the street noise didn't quiet down until midnight.

If you'd like to stay in the heart of old St. Augustine within a stone's throw of fantastic restaurants and various attractions, and you don't mind the evening noise, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ejane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This a very nice hotel. I have stayed here more than once and have never been disappointed. Parking for check-in can be challenging, but that is the nature of the historic district. It is a bit more expensive then some of the area B&Bs, but the rooms are also larger and many have views the B&Bs are not able to give to guests. The nearby courtyard is a great place to enjoy breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captainjack0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed there for a for a couple of nights on our honeymoon. The bed was stunning. We stayed in room 12, one of their Santa Maria rooms. The description says view of the fort, bay and/or city gates which was mostly true- just a AC unit across the way obstructed most of it. It was a little noisy at night but that was something I expected and didn't mind at all. The bed was comfy (trust me you will want to steal the feathertop) and the room was clean. The staff was nice and helpful and even assisted in carrying down all of bags. I was a little surprised there was no microwave. You need to park in the parking garage (block or so away) and it can be a little tricky loading/unloading your car if you don't time in right. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a location right in downtown.

Room Tip: Call and ask what view you will specifically have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went at the end of June, early July. Very kid friendly and nice and clean. Room was a bit small but they offered an air mattress, set it up for us and was perfect. Our room was quiet but was not on the fountain side. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Tell them if you need an air mattress. Much quieter room if it is not on the fountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $206 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing