We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location. Hotel charming and full of character.”
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. George Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just enjoyed a week at the St George Inn. We stayed in a Pinta room with balconies overlooking the courtyard on one side and the garden of the Oldest Wooden Schoolhouse on the other. Sitting on a rocking chair drinking a cold beer from the fridge ( we stocked the fridge on our second day!) and watching the sunset was so peaceful. The room was spotless and cleaned, tidied and restocked with fresh supplies every day. The bed was comfortable (ignore the comments about creaky beds - those people must have deliberately jumped on the bed when they arrived, or something), the shower was hot, the towels were plentiful and fluffy and the coffee was delicious. The team who run the hotel - Irving and the gang - are without exception friendly, helpful, knowledgeable about the city and always happy to go the extra mile. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We ate so well at breakfast that we never needed lunch! Some reviewers have commented about noise: we weren't disturbed at all. The Schoolhouse doesn't open until 9am so the bell doesn't start to be rung until after most guests will be out of bed. If people are eating and drinking in the courtyard in the evening, any noise is masked by the room's air conditioning and classic old ceiling fan. The air conditioning sounds as though you're by a river or a waterfall and provides a restful background sound as you slumber.
In all, great value for money. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panicdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 933 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Nothing but good to say; nice people, great room, nice view-worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank utahjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having used Tripadvisor in selecting this Hotel, I was not disappointed. We stayed 2 nights in one of their Castillo suites, which had views of the old fort and harbor. The rocking chairs on the balcony were a great place to relax after walking the ancient city. The management and staff truly went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Extremely comfortable beds and nicely furnished with new bathroom with jacuzzi, the suite had plenty of space. The only tricky thing was carrying the suitcase up the spiral staircase to the bedroom, but it also added charm to the suite.
Like other guests mentioned, there is no need to use your car. Once we parked a block away at check-in, we never touched it till 2 days later when we checked out. St. Augustine is a great walking city, and if you are healthy, don't bother with the expensive trolleys and walk. Half the trolley stops are for tourist traps. The main 2 things you want to see are the Lightener Museum and Flagler College.
We also had 2 great dinners: Pavillon (French and German food), and The Tasting Room (Tapas and great wine list). See my seperate review for Tasting Room.

Room Tip: Don't buyt trolley tickets. Walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jerseyguy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The first time that we visited St Augustine (last year), we stayed at the Hilton but had heard about the St George. We visited and were given a tour...from that, we decided to stay here the following time, which we did. Boy, are we glad we did! It's worth the #1 rating that it has. Why? The staff is very well trained, super helpful and super nice. The room are comfortable, and we loved sitting out on our balcony with coffee each morning and watching the city wake up. It has a perfect location. On top of all that, it has a laid-back atmosphere where their hotel becomes yours. I'll definitely stay here for all future visits, as you should.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reezlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My family and I stayed here because of all the wonderful reviews. Everything that has been said about he St. George Inn is absolutely true. It is heavenly and will be coming back. We would not stay anywhere else. The location can not be beat, the staff is superb, the courtyard and views are so relaxing. Breakfast is provided and the accommodations are exactly what a family of four needed. I'm in love wih this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tpafam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

From pull-up to the front door for arrivel...to departing...nothing but friendly & helpful. Best location ever... charming and quiant...roomy and comfortable! Girls weekend! We'll be back.

Room Tip: only had one room two queen beds four girls...perfect for us. Up-stairs great view even without a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Wonderful location in historic district, spacious rooms (some with balconies overlooking St George St), superb staff--pleasant, friendly, helpful. Only two quibbles--bed comfortable but kind of squeaky and bathroom sink is in bedroom not bathroom which I don't care for but maybe that's just me! Probably the best location in St Augustine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
0.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $186 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing