We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best little fishing village EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old St. Augustine Village

Old St. Augustine Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.00*
and up
Haunted Stroll Through Old St Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A city block of St. Augustine's history, with historic houses spanning the period from 1790-1910.
Lakeland Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best little fishing village EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We feel at home in the Old city. It's an open, inviting place with lots of little shops intermingled with history and education. There are museums to enjoy, food by the tons, street musicians, tours, fudge shops and did I mention amazing food? And shops? We had fun! Our chaparones did not stress and the kids we took were very satisfied with their experience. Plans for individual returns began as we got on the bus. Everyone wants to come back. What fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    148
    53
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old St Augustine Village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were very dissapointed that most of the shops were so late to open.11:00 is very late. However we enjoyed the ones that were open. The clerks in the shops were very friendly

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 699Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun shopping and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first stop when getting into town. Car traffic is limited so you can walk and shop...and eat!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank moose58colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's a family tradition for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is a challenge sometimes to find multigenerational activities for people from 13-75 years old but we do it Everytime in Old St Augustine. The strange thing is, we keep finding new places to explore on each visit. Lots of knick knack shops, restaurants and such (why so many ice cream parlors? Maybe it's good during the hot summers?!)

This visit we stumbled upon St Photios Greek Orthodox shrine. My daughter thought it looked interesting some popped in. So glad we did! Lots of unique artifacts and antique books and a lovely little gift shop. Little being the operative word, so if you have someone with mobility issues it may be a challenge to navigate. But do stop and take a look. The gift shop operator was both attentive and eager to help. I am not Greek orthodox and she was more than willing to explain what things were for and information on the various saints, at that time I hadn't even indicated that I would buy anything. I did end up making several purchases of items I might have passed by had it not been for her caring demeanor. Well done!
Great experience and lots to see so venture out freely. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vinslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had originally planned on only spending a couple of hours in St Augustine to have a quick look around. Two and a half days later we reluctantly dragged ourselves away. This town is a gem. As we were told be a few people, St Augustine is the oldest continuously settled European town in the USA. There is stunning Spanish style architecture, great restaurants (we tried Scarlett O'Hara and Bistro Leon), interesting shops and fascinating history at every corner. When we first arrived we did the Trolley tour which gave us a lot of history and funny facts. We then walked a lot to really get a feel for the place. It would be easy to spend several days in St Augustine and you would not be bored for a minute.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old St. Augustine Village also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Old St. Augustine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing