We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Cafe Solo”

Restaurant and Cafe Solo
Ranked #275 of 579 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“First visit to Cafe Solo”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went and ordered the Feijaoda (i'm sure i butchered this spelling but hey). It comes with enough food for sure to feed two people. I thought the meat was good, but not great. The sausage and beef is served in two large crocks of black beans. The stuffed and fried potato roll was good but I didn't like the breading all that well. The meal also came with fried bananas which just seemed to be sweet more than anything else. The restaurant is small but comfortable. I would like to go try something else there again sometime just to see if I liked something else. I really went back and forth between rating this a "3" or a "4" so I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt on this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cwbunger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    46
    14
    9
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent food! My waiter Geff was very helpful and the food presentation was beautiful. I had Mozzarella Caprese and Linguini with Zucchini. Definitely will visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Delicious Paella & Sangria! Owner knows his stuff!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant is on a very quaint and beautiful street in San Augustin. Angelo, the owner, was extremely friendly and knowledgable with great stories. The food was excellent with very tasteful and unique flavors!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were looking for a good quiet restaurant somewhat off the beaten path in St. Augustine and luckily found this excellent restaurant. We had the fish stew for two which was one of the best dishes I've had. I liked the way it was prepared and presented and it was more than filling. Our waitress Melissa was adept at steering us through the menu and wines with pleasant support throughout. We were very pleased with the entire experience and would return and have the fish stew again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were looking for a good quiet adult restaurant in St. Augustine and Cafe Sol more than filled the bill. The fish stew we ordered was truly outstanding, the best meal we had in St. Augustine, and very reasonably priced. Our waitress Melissa was attentive and helped us make good decisions in both food and wine. The previous comment about the food not being authentic was lost on me...I wouldn't know authentic but I know what's good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant and Cafe Solo also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Restaurant and Cafe Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing