We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel in the heart of downtown St. Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pirate Haus Inn
Ranked #20 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Hostel in the heart of downtown St. Augustine”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First of all, those of you looking for a cookie-cutter hotel are in the wrong place. This is the "specialty lodging" section. The Pirate Haus is a hostel, which may be an unfamiliar concept for many Americans. Hostels are informal, social, self-service, budget accommodations. If you must have a TV in your room, can't live without a restaurant/lounge in the lobby, and/or want to remain anonymous - stay at a hotel.

This particular hostel has both dorm rooms and private rooms. The dorm rooms (one co-ed and one female-only) sleep 8 people in bunk beds, have lockers, share a bathroom and do not include parking. The private rooms accommodate from 4-6 people in queen beds and bunk beds (perfect for families), have private bathrooms and mini-fridges, and do include one parking space per room. There is also a communal family room with TV/DVD, computer, books, games and toys. Wi-Fi is available throughout the Haus. Guests also have use of the kitchen and a guest fridge and are expected to clean up after themselves. The pirates make breakfast pancakes and coffee for the guests. There is also a deck with tables and chairs where you can eat or just hang out (it was quiet and shady in the afternoon). 10pm quiet time is strictly enforced (but you are welcome to party on St. George street until the wee hours).

My teenage daughter and I stayed in the jungle room for three nights. It is very spacious and quite comfortable. The Wi-Fi works great - we had no problems streaming a movie on my daughter's laptop. The guys who work at the Haus are very friendly and gave us good tips on places to eat and places to avoid (shout out to John - thanks for the conversation!). It was nice to be able to park the car on arrival and walk everywhere. The only negative was the city garbage truck that came around at 6am - so you might want to bring ear plugs if this bothers you. A couple people said that the church bells woke them up, but I find that sound peaceful so it didn't bother me. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMomOfTeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank your for your stay and telling it like it is. We actually don't consider ourselves a hostel because we're friendly not hostile at all ;-) Room 6 is on the street and does get the noise of the garbage truck and the church bells on Sunday. But we do have free earplugs at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    69
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
112
71
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I took an impromptu weekend trip to St. Augustine and stayed in a private room at the Pirate Haus Inn. Loved the fact that there was free parking and pancakes for breakfast. The building is old, so it had great quirky charm. Our room was very clean and comfortable. You can literally walk everywhere in downtown St. Augustine from this location. The staff was extremely knowledgeable and suggested wonderful restaurants and activities. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am back in the area

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoDot151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed one night at the Pirate Haus inn and we hated it. They do not have T.V.'s in the rooms and they do not have individual AC units and the owner kept the rooms pretty warm. We stayed in August and it was so hot outside and i could not sleep at all becasue it was so hot in the room. The room was decorated horribly. Tthey literally ripped out pages of a magazine and glued them to the wall for decoration. So tacky. The only good thing about this room was that it is located in the the middle of the historic district so you can walk wherever you want to go, but for $20 more i could have stayed at the Hilton right across the street. Wish i did. It was a waste of money. The staff was rude as well, i had taken my wedding ring off because my fingers swell when i get overheated and he actually said to us...."i hope that you two are married". what business is it of his if we are married, what if we werent, what would he have done? the brochure states that they have washers and dryers...they do but you have to pay to use them and they are in the back office that gets locked at a certain time. they have a community kitchen and it was dirty. it looks like they live there and just rent out the extra bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 409AmandaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. No we don't have TV's in the rooms, it's stated in all of our advertising, which you would not have seen since you walked in off the street. When you checked in you would have noticed it and if you had requested we would have refunded your stay then and there. All of our rooms have some sort of themed decoupage in the bathrooms. You were in the tropical fish room, therefore there are images of fish on the walls. They are indeed cut out of magazines, but not ripped out as you suggest.
You would not have been able to stay at the Hilton across the street for $20 more, the $20 I was referring to is what they charge for parking. On a Labor Day weekend holiday rate I think they would have been in the $200 range.
We offer a laundry service for $6.
My comments about your wedding ring were meant in jest, which apparently fell flat, as I mentioned that my wife usually doesn't wear hers either. Apparently I hit a sore spot, apologies for that.
Sorry if the temperature was set too high, again, all we need is a word and we'll do our best to fix it. When we went to central air from window units, we knew we would give up some user convenience, but we felt that they ensuing quietness would make for better sleep. It may have been that the vent in your room was closed.
Again, our most humble apologies, this is the lowest user rating we've had in years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Ok, I had kind of high expectations for this place because the website made it look and sound pretty great. EVERYTHING WAS FABULOUS!! It truly does feel like a home away from home! You can't beat the location either! I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: You might get awakened by church bells at 7:30am :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Aye, thank ye fer yer kinds words.....And the bells, might get you up 'tis true, but you can't hear them in most towns, so I think it's pretty cool...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Pirate Hous was a blast! The staff we met were all friendly, and the whole place has such great character. The entire place is themed and the pirate crew really did a number. We were really pleased with our stay! It's also really close to plenty of St. Aug's attractions. Really worth the stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Don't miss this fun and friendly place, felt like a home away from home in St. Augustine, definitely will be back again! John, Capt. Conrad, Pam & the rest of the Pirate Crew were especially welcoming. Excellent location, a family friendly place and great coffee! Since the Inn was less like a hotel and more like home, meeting other guest was easy & 5 of us went to the first Friday art walk together and had a memorable time! I arrived solo but felt I was leaving friends at check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capnconrad, Owner at The Pirate Haus Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We like hosting other friendly travelers and showing them around our fair city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We got a private room when we visited. It's in a great location and a walk away from literally everything the city has to offer. The people there are really accomodating. It's great for families and just travelers of all kinds. The rooms are themed. It's a great atmosphere. I loved the common room and the whole building is just beautiful. The decor was so cool. The only thing I didn't favor was the parking or lack thereof. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay. Definitely needs to be checked out if you're in the area.

Room Tip: I suggest a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.4 mi away
The Cozy Inn
The Cozy Inn
#3 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pirate Haus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pirate Haus Inn

Property: The Pirate Haus Inn
Address: 32 Treasury St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3651
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pirate Haus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the best value lodging in the heart of the downtown historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pirate Haus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pirate Haus Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing