We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch, great vibe, great owners”

Barley Republic Public House
Ranked #55 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Saint Augustine's only Irish Gastro-pub. Enjoy Craft beer, Craft food and Craft Spirits. Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4-7 pm. This Irish bar and pub serves up traditional and contemporary Irish favorites like Shepherd's Pie, Bangers and Mash, and Fish & Chips as well as burgers and sandwiches.
United States
2 reviews
“great lunch, great vibe, great owners”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

stumbled into Barley Republic today in a downpour looking for a dry place for lunch. WHAT A FIND!!! the best fish and chips outside of the UK. When I asked what was the best thing on the menu, she told us fish and chips and shepherd's pie. we ordered both. the were both delicious, steaming hot, well presented.
Found out the the owners were young transplants from the Northeast,( our waitress was one of the owners) with lots of restaurant and food experience.. and you can tell... super clean, super friendly, casual vibe. even the iced tea was great.
it is obvious that this young couple know exactly how to treat customers and turn them into repeat customers. I am already planning my next trip to SA just to go to the Barley House.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    170
    45
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
“Really great place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The food was delicious! My husband is English and was craving some good fish and chips, he loved it! I had the roast turkey sandwich which was awesome. For dessert I had the car bomb cupcake which will blow your mind!The service was great, the bartender (Brook), owner (Red) and other staff (Sam) really make you feel welcome and at home. This was our first trip into down town St. Augustine and the first place we stopped we would definitely go back!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Great Food and Atmosphere"”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice little bar and restaurant with great, authentic food and drink. The corndog style bangers are awesome and the potato leek soup is delicious. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!! Not a tourist trap!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Ate at this place from the reviews on Trip Advisor & were not disappointed! It was happy hour & they have food & drink specials. The half order of fish & chips was fantastic! They make their own tarter sauce that is to die for. And a vingear base cole slaw that is delicious! The fish is haddock & the batter tastes great! It's off the beaten path, but has its own parking & will allow you to park free for 2 hours. You can walk around the downtown shops after you eat. This is not a tourist trap & there are plenty of those around. Don't pass up this place. Great prices & great value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsieSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great little spot. Weird location. Great BLAT!!!! Get the rundown.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to St. Augustine for one day while visiting my parents in JAX area. Searched the reviews and went to this place based on some of the other reviews on here. We really liked this place! Here is a run down of the experience...

1. BLAT - bacon, lettuce, tomato and avocado sandwich, was EXCELLENT. See photo. served with great fries (salty, fresh, can't go wrong).
2. Angus cheeseburger - husband ordered it medium, and let me tell you, it was the most raw burger I've ever seen in my life. my husband is brave, didn't care, ate it and didn't get sick. he said it was quite good, but did admit to it being even a bit too rare for his taste.
3. we sat outside which was nice, but there is a view of a parking lot and that's about it, folks. in the background they played some great "pub music", and they had some outdoor fans blowing. there is a problem with the AC unit above spewing water down to the outdoor patio, but the waitress kindly moved us and it wasn't a big deal.

All in all, it was a great lunch spot for us. We wanted some "comfort food" and we got it. It is not an elegant, or overly exciting dining spot, but did just the trick when you want to grab some grub and get on with it. (disclaimer, we didn't come at the right time for the night, pub scene, could be a totally different, more exciting feel)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank playdobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Republic Public House also viewed

 

Been to Barley Republic Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing