We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't!!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Don't stay here,we did a road trip around Florida and this was by far the worst we stayed at.Room was over the workings for the air con systems,very noisy,complained and basically the girl on reception didn't care.The rooms are ok and it is cheap but for an extra few pounds or dollars!! go elsewhere.We did get our first night for free because of the way we were treated but would rather not have experienced it at all.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Road trips are always a great way to see a country. When your an international traveler it gives you a real taste of the country your experiencing. Your experience was not positive at all. If you ever decide to come back to the USA and are in the St Augustine area please come and have a look at our renovations. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.


Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    298
    118
    61
    37
See reviews for
264
296
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Great customer service upon arriving. Our room was great and very clean, but the hotel public areas were disgusting. A lot of cigarette butts and trash in pool for our whole stay as well as the lobby and resturant were very dirty, and this was dirt and trash that has built up, not just one days worth! I sent my son down to the lobby and he was wearing his socks. They were so dirty that we ended up throwing them away! This hotel really needs a new houskeeping/ repair man crew!

  • Liked — People, area
  • Disliked — public spaces, resturant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank deanalocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

My husband and I stopped in St Augustine for one night after traveling to Jacksonville. We could not have been happier with the service and accommodations at this hotel. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and even though we were on the first floor right by the pool it was very quiet. For us, those are the basics... but this hotel offered more. The staff was very, very nice and genuinely seemed to want us to have a great experience there. And the service in the cafe was wonderful. We ate dinner and breakfast there and were treated like royalty both times. We both would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to St Augustine!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No wireless internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank julzt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

When we arrived, we found out that we were downgraded to a lesser room than what we booked online. In the end, that turned out to be the sliver lining, since they credited us for the difference in price. The room was disgusting! I turned down the sheets and clearly they were not changed from the previous customer- pubic hair, hair, and spots were on the sheets- totally disgusting. I called the front desk to have them changed, and after a few hours they were finally changed. Also, the carpet was so dirty and disgusting, I did not even feel comfortable walking bare foot. I felt dirty and gross the entire one-night stay and could not wait to leave. This is last time I will stay at a lower-end chain hotel- they are just gross.

  • Liked — check out time!
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJWrldtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

We are very sorry you had an obviously terrible experience. It's also terrible that your review was not responded too. We have recently renovated our rooms and lobby. We hope you give us another try.


Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn with caution due to reading the reviews on this website. Myself and 8 other friends shared 2 rooms (2 full beds w/pull out couch in each) and were SO impressed. When you walk into the hotel, the smell is a little odd, but the hotel rooms were not. The hotels were completely clean, very very nice, and we were very impressed! The staff was courteous and dealt with any issues we had (extra blankets/pillows and some pricing issues) swiftly and politely. It was a wonderful experience, and we would go back.

Is it close enough to walk to the historic district? The short answer: yes. The long answer: not so much. It is a long walk, especially in the heat, but it is certainly do-able. We drove and parking was only $5, so it was not that big of a deal.

Overall, the Holiday Inn was great and we will definitely go back there!

  • Liked — Good value for the money
  • Disliked — It WAS a little far, but not too far!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheapSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel. The hotel has renovated it's lobby & rooms.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

This hotel is AWFUL! Booked through hotwire, which told me that I was getting a great deal. I saved 5 dollars. They have the nerve to say it is in the historic district. It is about a 20 minute walk, and it stinks! It is VERY FAR!

Another couple traveling with us stayd there as well. Both rooms were Filthy. Mold in the bathroom, shower not working, stains on the floor, cobwebs in the corner of the ceilings. It was Gross! Did I mention mold in the shower? UGH

Outside the hotel was not much better. The jacuzzi was half filled with water and the pool size was tiny. It was a terrible stay. Only good thing was we were able to get out of staying there the second night. I would recommend staying at a bed and breakfast in the real heart of the historic district because this sure wasn't. It has potential if A) It really was in the historic district and b) They actually cleaned their rooms.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank jadealisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our location has not changed. If you google our address to the Castillo de San Marcos Fort it will tell you we are an 18 minute walk. Our hotel is classified as part of the Historical district, we are unable to change that. However since 2007 we have renovated our rooms & lobby area. We hope you give us another chance, but if you have found a preferred location we hope you have been enjoying it since staying with us.


Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2006

Recently when I was in St. Augustine, I had the opportunity to stay at this Holiday Inn. I picked it due to the reputation it had for the company name, but I never expected to see one like this. The staff was amazing. I attended a function in the meeting room there and had great food, never felt as if I was imposing on them. At any moment they were willing to do anything you asked of them. The property was newer, but has many useful amenities. The pool is small but it does the job. They also have a work-out center that could accomodate your needs for the most part. I enjoyed the enviroment even more when I saw how much they encouraged being with your kids or family. They offer many different activities around, such as passes to attaractions, recommendations on restuarants and bars, as well as just relaxing. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get away and not feel like you HAVE to do something.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank seely8432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic

Property: Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing