We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Yes the hotel is under renovation which was fine. The staff was extremely accommodating. Our family only needed a place to eat, shower and sleep. If that is what you need or an overnight stay then this hotel will fit your needs. Our breakfast was included and I have to say that it was the most pleasant part of our stay. Laurie, the breakfast attendant was so nice and refreshing to encounter each morning. She is such an asset to the hotel. Extremely warm and personable and her detail and attention to everyone she was serving was incredible. The front desk staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area. Everyone that worked at the hotel was very nice even when walking through or encountering them on an elevator. Our only con was that we had four people and had to ask for four large towels not a big deal. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator which was a plus. There are no safes, however this also was not a big deal. Not sure on the problem, but beware of the scalding hot water in the shower which may be scary for anyone traveling with small kids. I would think that after all the renovations this hotel will be perfect. We had a great stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAL1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Hi and thank you for spending some time with us. We are going through a renovation and we are in the last stages so we do appreciate everyones patience as we go through these fantastic changes and do apologize if we have offended anyone during this time.
We have taking care of the hot water problem, when we find out through tripadvisor we jumped right on it and rectified it. So thank you for letting us know.
We hope to see you come back and visit us after the renovation.
Many Thanks
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 812 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The pictures must be really old. The rooms smelled really bad and the bathroom was very small and dirty. My family felt dirty after leaving. The balcony door didn't work well either. We checked out and went up the road a little and found a nicer hotel for less money. I would save your money and your time. DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

I thank you for going on Tripadvisor and leaving a comment on a hotel. However you do have the wrong hotel as our htel does not have balconies or dors that lead outside, i do apologize for that hotel not exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Was not sure how the stay would be after some of the reviews I read. Check in was quick and efficient. Staff member was not rude just down to business. Room was close to pool. Never heard any of the kids playing in the pool. Clean, cool, and bed was nice. I would probably walk to downtown if had more time and cooler weather. Parked at the fort 4hr maximum at the meter. Shower was good hot but good. Slept awesome.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Bangtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Hi there and thank you for the comments, sleep is very important and i am glad yours was good while staying with us . We want our guests to enjoy their stay and feel comfortable and wake up fresh to take on another day of site seeing .
We look forward to your next vist to the oldest city in America.
Thank You
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just staid for one night, it was recently remodeled. Clean and comfy. The free breakfast was more than I expected, not just cereal and yogurt but pastries, eggs,fruits. It was buffet style and the service was excellent, they even offered take out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gingerpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Hi and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn as your destination. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and i a so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefuly we will seee you come back and visit us soon and dont forget about nights of lights celebration and that starts after thanksgiving and goes into January 2015.
Thank You Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Without going into details, the front desk employee was horrible. She obviously hated her job and has no idea what customer service is. I don't know her name since her name tag was covered by her jacket lapel. She is a young, in her 20's, black woman who did nothing to make our check in pleasurable. We had to go back down to the desk to inquire about out Priority Club check in gift, which my wife reminded me that we never received. The same employee stated that they were out since someone forgot to order them. She told me that we would be receiving 500 points instead as she wrote my info down onto a notebook. I asked her why I had to come back down and inquire about it and if I would have received nothing if I didn't. She told me that the night mgr would take care of it. I still need to call in to make sure this happened.
Apparently the head of housekeeping, I think her name is Regina, approached me as I walked away. She obviously witnessed my deplorable check in experience and took it upon herself to apologize for the hotel for what had happened and explained a few other things which totally diffused the situation. She is an asset to this hotel. She should be working at the front desk!

Later, when I was at the pool with 2 of our sons, it got dark and neither the pool lights or the lights surrounding the pool area turned on. I saw a telephone on the wall, so I called the front desk only to have the same check in employee answer. I explained the lighting situation and asked if the lights could be turned on since it was very dark and it was hard to see in and around the pool. She simply said that the lights will turn on by themselves. A couple sitting near the phone laughed and said that the lights have not turned on at all during their stay at the hotel so far. Unacceptable! We finally left the pool since it was just too dark and unsafe to keep swimming with our young sons.

As far as the hotel itself and the other staff, we've had no issues. The carpeting in the hallways is in need of either replacing or reinstalling since it's bubbling along the center, the entire length of the hallways. The rooms are very nice and clean. The beds unfortunately were not very comfortable. We only stayed that one night and stayed elsewhere in hopes of a better experience. This was the 2nd Holiday Inn that we stayed in during our trip and will be the last time we stay at this one. The Holiday Inn in Ocala, Fl felt as if we were in a five star hotel. The rooms and property were pristine as well as the staff was exceptional!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wally-Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback as it does help us improve services and we take all coments very seriously especialy when it comes to customer service as we want all of our guests to have a wonderful experience staying with us.
I see you did not have a pleasant experience and i would like to learn more what transpired during your stay with us. At your earliest convinience if yu could give me a call at 904 494 2100 or email me at barry.peckham@jalaramhotels.com, i would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you again
Barry Peckham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room was very clean and the beds and pillows were amazing. It was so comfortable we didn't want to get up! Staff was very polite. The pool area was also very nice and they provided towels. Only downfall was the restaurant was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paulaz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Hi and thank you for staying with us . I am glad you found the room clean and fresh and with our newly renovated rooms they are even better.
We are working on the restaurant with a whole new fresh idea, and we are all excited about the change.
Thank You Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked this room a few months in advance of a vacation to the area. St. Augustine was a side trip from our main vacation site so we only stayed one night. This was our first visit to the St. Augustine area. Based on the price of this two queen bed sute ($160+), I expected a pleasant stay in a nice room. That is not what we got. After a few issues, I started to make a list, I'll be kind and start with the good things.
Pros:
- easy to locate
- really nice beds, great bedding, very comfortable
- two tv's
- lots of plug in's - this was pointed out by our two teenagers
- free wi-fi

Cons:
- water in shower was scalding hot, I mean hot hot. There was a very small area between cold and blistering, you had to be very careful.
- after one shower, water in tub wouldn't drain, we waited 30 min for it to drain out - we did this four times- a shower for each of us
- smoke alarm in main room was hanging off the wall- just dangling there
- we used the pull out sofa and got the extra bedding set from the closet- the sheets were wet, not damp but wet. I couldn't use them on the bed, had to sleep on the blanket.
- no do not disturb sign to put out- housekeeping knocked on our door before we were even awake (9:00 am ish - it was our vacation, we slept in)
- check in person, a gentlemen, was overly friendly- like creepy friendly. Even questioned why we were only staying one night. He said " I was hoping for a long, fulfilling, check in relationship." Creepy! (Especially with two teenage daughters along.)
- there were carpet pieces missing in our room, you know how there is a 3-4 inch strip of carpet that runs on the wall above the carpet, it was missing in a few corners of our room. This did not affect our stay but was a bit tacky.
- ice bucket leaked. We had filled in in the evening and set it on the side table. We were awakened in the middle of the night to 'drip, drip, drip" as it ran off the table top onto our luggage.
- in a room that would sleep six, we got two bath towels. Had to go ask at the front desk for a few more. To which he replied "I suppose, just for you." Creepiness continued.
- hotel was remodeling or replacing carpet, it was kind of a mess. I realize this is a necessity but is summer, the busy season, the best time to do this? Also, an email with "Sorry for our mess." would have been a great heads up.

At checkout they always ask, "How was your stay?" Did she really want to know? I got out my list. I got to number three and she said "I'll discount your room." She didn't even let me finish. So, we got a 50% discount, which was appreciated but still made the cost over $80. Still too much in my opinion for what we encountered.

Maybe it was simply a series of unfortunate events but I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saylesfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for your review and all feedback is very helpful to us as we can take care of any issues that may arise. I see your stay with us was not a typical great stay with us. I am so sorry that had a had abad experience and we are working on all the issues you had mentioned.
I would love to talk to you about your stay and i can be contacted at 904 494 5100 or at barry.peckham@jalaramhotels.com.
Our renovation is almost done and the end product is looking really good.
Thank You Again
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
821 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic

Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $121 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing