We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with an excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well located with an excellent staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed two nights at this HI which is well within walking distance of the old town area. The front desk fellow was very welcoming, helpful and professional. I reserved online at their website for $100 but later noticed a coupon booklet rate of $76 (advertised as the same offer if you phone for a reservation) which I showed to the desk clerk (Brendan?) and he immediately matched the rate with no fuss. But why wouldn't IHC offer the lowest rate to club clients online?

My room, a double queen, was large but crammed with way too much furniture which made it feel small. And too bad they use those harsh white light bulbs. Housekeeping was a little too relaxed (when I left the first morning at 9:30, the chamber maid saw me exit but by 3:30, when I returned, the room had not yet been made up). The breakfast buffet was good and the servers quite pleasant.

Not a bad deal in St Augustine by any means. If the room had felt less crowded and if housekeeping was more on-the-ball, the hotel would rank as a four- or five-star facility.

Room Tip: A king room might feel less over-furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasinchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
To begin with I will happily pass along your accolades to the front desk and I am certain they will appreciate it. Concerning the coupons, those are a local advertisement by our franchise owner, with no association to IHG. Next, I apologize for your accommodations not being ready when you returned to the hotel and I understand your frustration on that matter. I will also let the breakfast staff know that they did an excellent job for you during your stay. Thank you for everything and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    285
    114
    60
    35
See reviews for
244
284
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hard to find…located behind an auto repair shop frontage off the main highway. Standard HI hotel layout with hallway down the middle and rooms on both sides, crosswalk doors in the middle of building. Outside pool. Benjy checked us in and was friendly with lots of local information and restaurant suggestions. However he fails at room assignments. He read aloud from onscreen my request for a QUIET room and proceeded to place me in a room with an internal connecting door with a bawling baby and brawling parents! When we returned from dinner, the hall was filled with two bus-loads of teenage girls in PJ’s running up and down the length of the building for a slumber party. Loudest hotel I have ever seen, with complete lack of sleep. Upon checkout, Michele was sympathetic to our lack of sleep due to noise. But there is nothing unique about this place other than noise.

Room Tip: If there is a tour bus or school bus in the lot, cancel your reservation and keep going. Very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
First of all I see that it was not as easy to locate us as expected and for that I apologize. I will let Benjamin know that he was gracious to you upon check in but unfortunately did not place you as requested. Overall I apologize for the noise issue during your stay and I appreciate you mentioning it so that we may improve our room assignments during group stays. Thank you and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If your coming to st aug for first time may want to stay closer to downtown. Parking in the city is terrible. The room had a funky smell to me. My girlfriend did not smell anything. Everything else was clean. Staff very friendly. Other guest not so much. Good hotel can be better. Charged 7 dollars more than I reserved for when I checked in

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for any odor in your room, and any time during a stay we will be more than happy to deodorize your accommodations for you. I will let the staff know that their friendliness was appreciated. As to the $7, our rooms are authorized for either 7% or $7 over the room rent depending upon the method of payment, but the room charge is all that remains for the charge. Thank you again and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The manager Benjy went out of his way to make our stay exceptional. Thanks for the hospitality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in St Augustine. The rooms are clean and the location is exceptional. .........................

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMcd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
You are correct that Benjamin is an execptional individual. Any time you find yourself in the St Augustine area, please visit us and give us the opportunity to continue to give you marvelous service. Take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in St. Augustine at this Holiday Inn. The place was very nice, very comfortable, quiet. Some reviews say this is not near the historic district like advertised but we walked the 5 or 6 blocks to it and walked the 2 or 3 blocks to the Old Jail and The Fountain of Youth with no problems. The only complaint we have is we found a really good deal on the internet. Well, it did not include breakfast. I can't ever remember being at a hotel that did not offer some kind of continental breakfast. The desk told us the reason we did not get breakfast was because of what we paid per night. She said "if you would book a room today", and she checked her computer, the cost would have been $25 more a night. Kind of steep for a breakfast if you ask me. So watch the small print when booking. The price we paid was perfect and worth the walk to the cute coffee shop a few doors down each morning, mush cheaper than $25.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am happy to see that our location in the historic district was good for your needs. As to the breakfast, I am sorry for any inconvenience in that area and if it helps, I suggest using the Holiday Inn site and choosing the breakfast included rate. It is only $10 more for two people. Thank you for everything and have a fantastic day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were traveling from Miami to St Augustine as advised by a few people and decided to stop here to rest for the night. (we stayed only 1 night).
We were checked in by a very nice and helpful gentleman called Benjy; whom advised us were to go and were to eat. (by the way we eat in A1A Ale Works) BRILLIANT FOOD.
OVER ALL VERY HAPPY WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE and the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovecoffee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Your decision to stay with us is very much appreciated. I will let Benjamin know that he made your experience a pleasant one. Please visit us again when you are in the St Augustine area.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After a desk clerk at check in included breakfast in our rate and forgot to give the voucher, a certain woman clerk refused to make it right the next morning. She bad-mouthed her co-worker and gave me one voucher. Sorry Honey, you're on your own. Well, as we returned that evening, Benjy asked how we were doing, so I let him know. He apologized, gave a voucher for 2, and asked what else he could do to make it right. Of the 3 desk clerks we dealt with, one we average, one needs much coaching in customer service, and all should take a lesson from Benjy!

Overall, the hotel meets the Holiday Inn standards.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank randrews30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for relaying the information regarding your stay. Benjamin is definitely an asset to the hotel. As to the clerk in the morning, I deeply apologize for the incident. We strive to make our guests' experience a pleasant one and unfortunately we did not hit the mark all of the way during your stay. Once again we appreciate everything and have a fantastic day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 Ponce De Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing