We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview, FL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location, good night sleep”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We walked to the historic area from the hotel twice while staying there and it was only a few blocks - sure was better than trying to find a place to park! The hotel was clean and quiet. The only concern was that the door to our room squeaked very loudly and we could not help but make a lot of noise as we prepared to leave very early on a Sunday morning. I would like to have told the desk clerk about the door as we were checking out but he was too pre-occupied with something else. The other staff that we encountered while we were there were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timekeeper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you kindly for such a gracious review. I am happy to see that you had a pleasant walk to the heart of the historic district. Also I thank you for letting us know that housekeeping did a superb job keeping the hotel clean during your visit. I apologize for the clerk being pre-occupied with another matter when you had an issue to pass along. Once more I appreciate you kind words and have a fantastic day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    291
    115
    60
    36
See reviews for
250
292
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girl friend and I stayed here two nights. The room smelled very strongly of mold and mildew and on the 2nd night they had added a freshner thing to the ac. My bare feet actually got dirty from walking on the carpet. i did not realize this until the second night after my shower and my feet got dirty again. We both had scratchy throats and irritated sinuses by the time we checked out. I realize I should have complained immediately but both of us thought we were being picky.
Breakfasts were good, staff was friendly, and otherwise the hotel was clean. However, don't order the Patty Melt if you are expecting a good hamburger. Definitely the worst Patty melt sandwich I have ever had. My friend's dinner of shrimp and rice was very good though.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms first and if not to your satisfaction, ask for another room. And don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I very much appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the most troubling issue that I see regarding the mildew odor. Please do not think that you are being "picky" if you have to let us know of any problems with the accommodations. I will also let the staff know that you found everyone friendly. Thank you for your time and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. My girlfriend and I stayed for a weekend jaunt. The rooms were nicely appointed and the staff was friendly. The hotel was a little further outside downtown than I would have liked but it wasn't bad. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thezingzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I thank you for the pleasant review. I will let the staff know how accommodating everyone was during your stay. I hope the walk to the historic district was not too much trouble and that you enjoyed the shops along the way. Thank you very much for everything and have a fantastic day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I think I would have liked this hotel better if my room was not directly on the swimming pool. In the morning I heard a man scolding a little boy in some very bad language and I could hear what they were saying very clearly. The rooms were clean and above average. The location was not a bad distance from the historic area, but I am also a person who likes to walk. If you don't like to walk or cannot stand the heat, spend the money and get a closer hotel. My rating of "very good" is for the value and the cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you like free breakfast, they don't have it. Request a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I very much appreciate you taking the time to share the highlights of your stay with us. I apologize for the commotion in the pool area and I hope that it did not last very long. I trust that you enjoyed the walk to the historic district and had plenty of fun while there. I will pass along the compliment to housekeeping about the rooms also. Take care and thank you once more.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

By calling this average, I'm not meaning that there is anything wrong with it - in fact it's a good example of everything that can be right about this sort of hotel chain. You know what you're getting (clean room, comfortable beds,generally OK experience), and this place certainly delivers on all that. But that's about it really. Very friendly staff, and if St Augustine wasn't quite so hot and sticky it would be an easy walk to all the major downtown attractions. There's a fair sized swimming pool, but it almost never seemed to be in the shade which, with a hot sun shining into it, rather limits its usefulness. And don't get excited about the prospect of this hotel having a sort of restaurant. I say sort of because the dinner menu doesn't extend beyond microwaved dishes and essentially provides fast food. So, an average Holiday Inn. Nothing to write home about, but a comfortable enough place to stay. And it has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to see that we delivered a stay on par with expected Holiday Inn standards, with a clean and comfortable room. I will also let the staff know that their attentiveness was noticed. Any time you find yourself in St Augustine, please come and visit us. Take care and have a fabulous day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room was not clean the carpet was terrible afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes and the whole expereince was not good. I attribute this to poor management for no excuses to keep a small room clean and detailed to the likings of a true Holiday Inn. We was stuck for four days and the cleaning issue didn't get any better. One otherthing the site shows a beautiful entrance with palm trees and such. The front of the Hotel is hidden from Ponce De leon Blvd for has a auto repair shop dead center in the front of the Hotel. Very misleading I tell You!!!! One thing for sure I'll never stay in any Holiday Inn again after expereincing what we encountered. The staff to my likings was mixed, some friendly and others just rude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viperjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I appreciate you bringing the point of the carpet cleaning to our attention and it will be assuredly addressed. Regarding the repair facility in front of the hotel, I will take your observation under consideration. Finally, I regret that all of the employees you encountered were not as condial as others. Thank you again and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are many choices for where to stay in St Augustine. We settled on the Holiday Inn for many reasons: We drove and parking at the hotel is free; we got some reward points to redeem later; the price at $129/night was good (as expected) and included a nice breakfast; it's reliable; and the location was okay--on the outskirts of the historic district, but a stones-throw from the Old Town Trolley depot (also free parking). The king room with sofa was comfortable with free wi-fi and internet access, and plenty of TV/movie channels. We stayed 2 nights early in the week as low season was beginning; the hotel was quiet. The entire staff was excellent. Front desk receptionists were very knowledgeable and helpful in getting us going with our first trip to the city. Next time we plan to stay at the St George Inn--highly rated by Trip Advisor. It's located IN the historic district. About $50 more a night, but the rooms are very nice! Just check on parking and breakfast before you book. The city is wonderful and we will go back! Great history, terrific sights, excellent shopping, and good restaurants (we lunched at A1A Ale House and had dinner at Raintree). People are friendly and laid back. If you are first-timers, take one of the trolley tours; they stops at all the important sites of interest. You can get off and on at any stop; the Old Town Trolley fare is good for 3 days. Know when attractions open/close, and when tours start. We had tickets to tour Flagler College (a must!), but since it's given by students and they were returning for the start of the Fall semester, we couldn't take the tour. as always, please e-mail me if you have any questions. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: the hotel runs perpendicular to the main road. Noise is not a factor. Layout is good with easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeminiMan611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It is great to see that you found all of the advantages of your points, the price and our location. I will also let our breakfast personnel know that they did a superb job. I see that your visit to the historic district was fun filled and I trust that you will find time to come back to St Augustine. Take care and thank you so very much for such a fantastic review.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing