We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Location is a little bit of a walk to where all the shops are at but we used the car to get everywhere anyways. Rooms are clean. Staff are friendly. Just had the breakfast buffet (still staying at hotel as I write this). I've got to say, not bad. We prepaid for the breakfast so it came out to be $8 for adults and kids eat free. You'd spend a lot more and eat a lot less at Denny's next door.

Overall, good value for location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunSeekingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff I thank you for taking the time to give us a positive accounting. I see that the staff was friendly and your accommodations were clean, and I appreciate you letting us know. I am happy to see that you took advantage of the breakfast buffet deal. Excellent choice. Thank you once more for everything and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    280
    113
    60
    32
See reviews for
237
279
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just left the Holiday Inn Express in St. Augustine, FL on Ponce de Leon. We booked our one night stay through the hotel and received our AAA discount. The room was fine. We read that this hotel gives you a free breakfast. We read on their website. We did NOT receive a free breakfast because we received an AAA discount. The breakfast cost $12.99 each....We were told this after we had our juice, coffee and cereal. CHECK FIRST. The same thing happened to the three tables around us...eat and then then charge you. Very disappointed with the the lack of communication.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff I apologize for any misunderstanding regarding breakfast. Our breakfast is indeed a full service breakfast, and we have a couple of rates on our website where a future guest may prepurchase the breakfast at a discounted price. I will be more than happy to review the wording to prevent any future miscommunications on the matter. Also, thank you for taking the time to pass along your positive experiences at our hotel. Take care and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to St Augustine for a wedding. The wedding schedule was moved up due to inclement weather, so we needed to check in early. We called ahead and the staff was very friendly and accommodating (thanks Miles). The rooms were clean, everything worked as it should. Our room was next to the elevator and I was concerned that we would hear everyone coming up and down the elevator, but didn't hear a peep. Every staff member we met was very friendly and helpful. The room looked just like the photos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for giving us a sterling review. I will let Miles know that he did an excellent job taking care of you. I am please to see that your accommodations were clean and the entire staff was friendly to you. Any time you are in St Augustine for a wedding or not, please come and visit us.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel was clean and the location is great! Walking distance to local events. So many ghost tours in the area. Visiting Anastasia Island is a must! Breakfast buffet seemed high at $10.99 a person though. I just came from Orlando and paid 5.99 a person for buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that your room was clean and I will pass it along to the housekeeping staff. I see that you had the chance to experience at least one of the ghost tours and visited the Island. That was a great idea and I hope that you had fun. I am sorry to see that you found the breakfast pricey. Thank you and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

First off this hotel is NOT in the historic district.... it is 10 blocks away. Our room smelled terrible, the exhaust fan didn't work so there was no air circulation (the windows don't open). I repeatedly asked (4 times) for it to be fixed in the 2 nights we were there and no one even bothered to come and look at it (nor were we offered another room).

On the other hand the beds were comfortable and the shower was nice.

We got the breakfast rate for both mornings so we got the vouchers but only used one because the server in the hotel breakfast was EXTREMELY rude, the next morning we went to the hotel next door (that had a Denny's) and ate there. I would rather pay again for breakfast than eat at the hotel which is pretty bad.
Over all the hotel wasn't bad but the service needs a major overhaul!

Watch out for the "area information" guy sitting in the lobby, he pressures you to sign up for a meeting and isn't really interested in helping he just wants to meet his quota. I think that is shady for a hotel to have in the lobby but I was lucky he was talking to someone in front of me so I saw what he was up to and went to the front desk instead.
I will not stay here again, I will pay the extra money to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your viewpoint. I regret that the location of the hotel was not as expected before your arrival. As to the server in the morning, I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience that morning. We take great pride in providing friendly service and the matter will be looked into. Thank you once more and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent three nights her over spring break. We picked a room that has two queen beds in the "bedroom" and a hideaway sleeper couch in the "other" room. The rooms were seperated by two sliding pocket doors that met in the middle. This worked great for our needs. Our daughter had her semi-privacy on the sleeper couch. The only problem I felt was that when we closed the pocket doors there was no AC in her room. She's cold natured so she didn't notice or complain but I'm not sure that would work for everyone. There was a thermostat in her room but it did not work. Since it wasn't a problem for her I didn't call the front desk to ask if it was supposed to work.

The room was clean, hot water was constant and the small fridge in the room was a plus. Supposedly with our room we were supposed to get some plastic bowls and utensils but they were out because of the number of families staying for spring break. They easily provided bowls and utensils from the buffet. We appreciated their quick asnwer in solving the problem.

The walk to the histroric district was a further than we wanted to walk. It was roughly 3/4 of a mile.

We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am grateful that you and your family enjoyed your stay overall. I apologize for the oversight of a lack of separate air conditioning in the area in your room which had the sofa sleeper. As to the walk to the historic district I regret that our location was as close as aspected, but I hope that you enjoyed the scenery. Finally, I am happy to see that the eating ware was provided from our dining area although not available for the suite. Thank you again and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This Hotel was quiet and within walking distance to the Historical District. The desk clerk was very informative as to the Antique stores nearby and very helpful with locating on the map and circling our location and locations we wanted to visit. The beds were awesome. We had a very restful nights sleep. The breakfast which was included with our Priority membership was delicious, individually prepared as requested and nutritious. We would definitely recommend this location and would stay there again on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am please to see that the walk to the historic district gave you the opportunity to see the antique shops. I appreciate the good word about the breakfast also, and I will pass it along to the dining personnel. Thank you once more and have a fabulous day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 Ponce De Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing