We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fine - just fine”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This feels more like a 2 or 2 1/2 star hotel so over-priced. It's a little "shop worn." The rooms are average-sized (but the microwave and mini-frig are a nice touch.)

Bedding was OK (although the identification of the pillows as hard and soft was also appreciated.)

Room not ready at 4 pm (LATE!) check in but front desk accommodating and "made it happen." Convenient to Historic Area (but not really walking distance for most - probably a mile and change the way the crow flies.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Emcfish,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    293
    116
    61
    36
See reviews for
256
294
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This place is nothing to write home about. On the surface, it seems like a nice enough hotel. The rooms "look" okay, but that is about as far as it goes. The drapes are dirty -- complete with disgusting brown fingerprints all over them. The walls also have huge stains. The entire 4th floor hallway had a horrible cigarette smell, in spite of the fact that it is supposed to be a smoke-free facility. The place is also very noisy. The housekeeping staff did a rudimentary job of cleaning, so the features throughout the entire place were dingy, dusty and generally unclean. They were even out of regular coffee for rooms--how does THAT happen at any decent hotel? If you are going to stay at a barely-average hotel, stay closer to town at a place half the cost--it can't be any lower quality in the grand scheme of things. One plus to the hotel is the lady who worked the breakfast bar--she was friendly, helpful and genuinely nice!

Room Tip: Pick a hotel closer to the downtown sights -- and one that costs much less for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear willsr,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your recognition of the pleasant staff service at the breakfast bar. It is regrettable to hear that you did not receive the regular coffee refill in the room that you were expecting and should have received. Please accept our sincere apology. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and hope to welcome you back soon to see the improvement we have made.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I selected this hotel for the good rate, past brand experience, and expectation it would be walking distance to historic St. Augustine. It is not within normal walking distance; it was at least a mile. Parking in the historic district was almost non-existent so this was a real letdown. The staff was friendly and accommodting. The room was typical Holiday Inn with the exception of the linen. The sheets were the thinnest and nubbiest I have ever slept on in my life. I expected them to split apart at any moment. One day a towel with strings hanging from it was left (see photo). The included buffet breakfast was so bad we passed on the second and third mornings and paid for it elsewhere. This particular hotel is definitely the exception as we have always enjoyed Holiday Inns.

Room Tip: Check the sheets before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
kathyatthebeach,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn in many years. This hotel was friendly, allowed us to check in early (arrived at 11:30am), clean, walking distance to the Historic district, and had a very adequate breakfast. We definitely had no complaints. When we made the reservation we signed up for free as Priority Club members, and upon check in were given bottled water and cookies, as well as vouchers for free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was very good, and a large variety, along with unlimited juices and coffee. Just don't arrive thinking you are staying in a 5 star resort, and you will not be disappointed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rooms are modern and clean and steps away from all the historic sites in St Augustine. Overall great value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennaRyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I've stayed in many Holiday Inns and this one was not as nice as others. It seemed a little dingy and dirty. We were put in a smoking room (but were told it was not) and it smelled. Luckily, they had a non-smoking room open. The room smelled a little musty. The people that worked there were nice and friendly. We could walk to downtown but it was a long walk. If I go back to St. Augustine I would stay somewhere else like the Hilton......I would pay the extra $40 a night. I would also been nice to have been a little closer to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

We are happy to update you on the fact we are now NONE SMOKING. So we don't have any smoking rooms. We have also renovated the lobby and the rooms.


Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The staff thinks this hotel is something it is not. #1 They are NOT close to historic district. Especially for those people who are not able to walk long distances. #2 Being a Priority Club mbr means NOTHING. #3 If you arrive in town a little early do not think about ckin in...you will be chastized. #4 if you specifically request a room away from the elevator you will be placed directly beside one...even when you long had reservations...mainly because i had a AAA rate (per the manager)....again the attitde.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank serenitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn32084, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Thank you for writing your review.

We noticed this review is quite old but had never been responded too. We have a new management team and want to make sure we respond to all reviews, positive and negative. This will allow us to improve our hotel.

We are sorry you did not have a wonderful experience. Things have changed since 2012 so we hope you give us another try.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing