We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pupusa mixtos is the best!”
Review of Mi Carnal

Mi Carnal
Ranked #95 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin
Restaurant details
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pupusa mixtos is the best!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Besides the only place to get Salsa Lizano in St Aug, the food and service is authentic. Yes, there's a Latin tienda inside the restaurant, but that is extremely authentic and if u don't think so, you've never been out of the US

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NachoMamaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“El Salvador in Florida”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Tiny, hidden and worth the effort of discovery. Authentic and delicious. The pupusas and tortilla soup alone make this restaurant one to remember.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank imaginepeacelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

First off we felt like we were dining in a small grocery store.....We were the only 2 in the place, service was mediocre, food was not as expected of a Mexican restaurant...ie, no cheese served with fajitas. Also no salsa served with burrito...etc...just NOT a good experience..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking for real Mexican food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for home-made mexican food and we found it at Mi Carnal. To begin with, I drank the best horchata this side of Mexico! Our friends ordered the pupusas and they were very good. I ordered the carne asada tacos with rice and beans...excellent choice! You certainly get what you paid for and then some. The owner was nice and courteous, giving us tips on the different restaurants we could eat at.
Inside the restaurant is a small tiendita (store) and took some cheese, tortillas and other good stuff home. Stop by anytime before 7:30 pm...they close early in comparison to other restaurants. A Tip to follow: just because the restaurant has the mexican decor doesn't make them authentic! I will make it a point to stop and eat here on my travels on I-95.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank calmendrales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were looking for good Mexican food while in St Augustine for the day and saw the reviews on trip advisor. One review mentioned El Salvadorian and that hooked me. we has the chicken quesadilla, rice & bean pupusas and tacos with pastor and campechano. all delicious, the tacos were fabulous. Chips and salsa both served warmed. Just a few minutes drive down US 1, worth the diversion from the historic downtown.

Helpful?
Thank Pegasus612
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Mi Carnal also viewed

 

Been to Mi Carnal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing