We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Not so great service”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #424 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food. Not so great service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I haven't eaten at a steak am shake in 10 years or more so I didn't have any preconceived ideas going in. I ordered the royal cheeseburger. It has two steak patties with bacon and an egg on top. Wow!!!! That was a great burger! Not the healthiest but that was okay! Really good food but the service was a little slow. They were quite busy but if there was more communication between the servers I think they could have done a better job. Plus the senior server was scolding and talking down toward one of the junior servers in front of guests. Not very professional. However, I can say enough good things about the food. Really really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaysuhn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service and great food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we arrived at the restaurant they were not very busy which was a plus. Our waiter, Wade, was very friendly and even recommended milkshakes that were his own creations. The food was yummy and decently priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank xxamberislovexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive breakfast”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had pancakes and 1 egg with sausage & a biscuit with drinks for about $10. Service was OK and food was adequate. But $10 for 2 people? NOT BAD

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love those shakes”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The burgers are baisty as they use an 80/20 beef mixture. With all kinds of accessories to go with it. My favorite shake is a Choc. with Hot Fudge blended in...OH.. SO.. GOOD

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This One Could Do Better”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hi have eaten at a lot of Steak N Shake places and this one is just not up to par with the others. For the good parts: there is tons of parking, not very busy, quick seating and pretty good food. For the not so good parts: it has a bathroom smell inside, the service is slow and for some reason, the ac vents in the sealing had dust coming out of them and they were pretty dirty. I would pass on this one and try another Steak N Shake in a different town. They are usually a great place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing