We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gourmet Hut

The Gourmet Hut
Ranked #130 of 571 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found this little restaurant on a quite street in St. Augustine. We checked out the menu board to find some "different" types of offerings. We decided on our selections and walked in to a small wood frame building and placed our order with the Chef...how many times have you actually been able to talk with the Chef about what you want to have for dinner? He was willing to make any changes to our selections if we wanted or make something up to meet our needs including eggs Benedict if we chose to. He asked what we wanted for our beverages, took them out and served them to us. He said we could sit where we wanted. We decided to sit inside due to the rain. Had the weather been better, we would have sat in the lovely garden area. We found the building that housed the restaurant and the adjacent building, that was a coffee shop, were historical buildings. If you are a foodie we recommend this place to try something new. The Chefs who work here are very imaginative when planning their menu offerings and are willing to try paring different foods to create a dish. They work with fresh local products every day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeryl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    57
    29
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unless you know where to go, this hidden gem might remain undiscovered. Fortunately for us, it was not and we experienced not only a fabulous lunch but a superb dinner. Our South African host gives her chef free rein to unleash their talents much to the delight of the patrons. This evening we were treated to salmon, asparagus, and romanescu over potatoes Anna with a sublime Hollandaise dill sauce. My husband had the chicken curry, just perfect in the amount of heat from the spices. What a wonderful treat for those who love adventure and great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank svh175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not pass up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

O'k so the decor is strictly outdoor garden. Looks a little funky when you walk by
BUT
Look at the special board slightly obscured in the tropical vines.
AND
Ask the chef what FRESH FISH he has and let him do his thing.
The result will blow you away.
This was our third time eating here and have always been surprised positively.
Wine selection is different, priced right, and spot on when you let the chef suggest a pairing.
Total price for wine and meal could be considered a value play.
Do Not Miss, check weather forecast first.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wanted to Love It, Felt Taken Advantage Of”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Quick Version (Long Version Below):

Great Eating Area
Good Food
Small Business (Yay)
Lackluster Service
Misleading Server/Chef Made for Bitter Experience

Long Version:
My wife and I were walking around looking for a place for a nice dinner, when two people at a small table asked us if we had eaten dinner yet. We said no, but that we couldn't afford the prices on the board. One of the people happened to be the chef and he said that he would work with our budget. He asked us to give him a number and he would make us something.

This is a small restaurant with seating in a nice little garden. We want to support small business and said to ourselves, "Hey, this will be unique and awesome and we want to have a nice meal." So, we gave him a number and he set to work. We were both served pasta with shrimp and vegetables in a butter sauce. It wasn't the best thing I had ever eaten, but it was very good.

After a long time (there were many long periods between visits from the chef) he came back and said "Are you ready for cheesecake?", to which I responded, "Are you serious?", to which he replied, "Absolutely!"

Now, this is the point when I could have made sure that dessert was included, but I assumed that since I had given a number that he would not surpass, that would not happen. After eating the cheesecake (which was also good), we waited a long time for him to return (we were the only ones eating), and then found out we were to go inside to pay. When I went to pay, he charged for the dessert. Based on the 7 times that he said that it happens to everybody who does the budget deal, I have a feeling that he knew exactly what he was doing. Shame on me for not checking, shame on them for taking advantage of guests.

Yes, it is just cheesecake, and yes, it is not TONS of money, but it did mar the rest of the night and I've thought about it enough to write my first tripadvisor review.

There are many other great restaurants in the area where you could pay less for the same or better food and more up-front service.

Note: Hanna T gave a separate review referencing a hostess-type woman. The writer of the response claims that such a person does not exist. I would argue that if I know who she is talking about, the writer would too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice in 3 days so it must have been good! Both nights the chef greeted us and told us what his specials were. Everything was excellent!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gourmet Hut also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Gourmet Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing