We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome day for everyone!”
Review of Yacht of Fun

Yacht of Fun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Yacht Of Fun" is a charter boat launching in St. Augustine or Palatka, Florida that is simply A LOT OF FUN! Captain Mike Fitzpatrick will take you out on his 23 foot Hurricane deck boat with plenty of seating and shade for up to six guests where you will spend the day doing what YOU like to do! Cruise and sightsee, anchor to swim, play on the sandbars and beaches, catch many kinds of fish, bring your own picnic or enjoy dining at a waterfront restaurant. The rate is $450 per day including Captain Mike for unlimited hours between dawn to dusk! Gratuity is optional, but is appreciated.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked a trip with Mike after seeing other TA reviews. Take the advice from all of the reviews and book a trip on Yacht of Fun! My parents and I all enjoyed our day out on the Intercoastal Waterway. My dad and I fished and my mom pretended to fish! I don't think I had ever been fishing before. Captain Mike showed me what to do,kept my hook filled with bait, and took the fish off the line. No yucky stuff equals a happy me! My dad and I had a blast fishing and catching lots of cool fish! My mom enjoyed watching the birds and reading while we fished. We saw dolphins and manatee. We had a full day of fishing and cruising. We met Mike at 9:00 and returned just before the sun went down. I know we will do this again. If you are considering booking a trip, go on and do it. You will not be disappointed. Mike will make sure you will have a day that won't soon be forgotten!

Thank Ilovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Yacht of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing Yacht Of Fun and letting everyone know you had a great time out on the boat with your parents and me! I think you and your Dad love fishing as much as I do! I had a lot of fun seeing you guys catch so many different kinds of fish all day long, and I am definitely looking forward to your next family fishing tournament aboard Yacht Of Fun! Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

No clocks on this boat, only FUN. I just experenced eleven hours on a boat with my wife and two friends, amazing!! Capt. Mike is awsome and he loves making people happy. Our trip started at the Vilano Bridge with a siteseeing trip South toward the Fort and the Bridge of Lions. Wow, what a view from the water. You have not seen St. Augustine until you see the view from Capt. Mike's Boat. Our first stop was just short of the 312 bridge to fish. The four of us had rods, tackle, and bait provided by Capt. Mike. The fish were biting for the next two hours where we caught and released morethan 40 fish. The largest fish was a 25.5 inch Red, and yes we released it for the next guests on Capt. Mike's boat. After fishing we crusied through Oyster Creek and docked at Hurricane Patty's for lunch. Lunch was great and the price was perfect. From there, we headed South to Matanza Inlet where swimming was a must. The water was cool and clear and we had our own private sand bar. After Matanza, we headed back north about two miles and stopped to fish. Again, Capt. Mike knows where the fish are because for the next three hours we caught and released a bunch of fish. Just so you know, this boat has a live well so you can take your fish home. After fishing we headed back North toward our starting point and enjoyed more siteseeing. This trip is amazing, great value, peaceful, and adventurous so my firends and I would recommend this trip for all ages and let Capt Mike show you a part of St. Augustine that will change your life. In closing, a few points for this trip. Bring a camera, snacks, drinks, and a rain jacket and everthing else the Capt. will provide, including a great time. The best thing about this trip, is you never feel rushed and Capt. Mike makes you feel like you've known him your entire life. (FYI! we live in St. Augustine and this trip made it the Best Day Ever.)

1  Thank SALTLIFE32080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Yacht of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you! Reviews like yours make me love what I do! What could be better then spending the day fishing and enjoying fun people like you! It WAS a great fishing day too! Next time I think we should have ESPN along to film your "two hour and forty five minute" fight with the next big one! Looking forward to that hook up! Capt. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is an absolute MUST DO in St. Augustine. Captain Mike provided us with an outstanding adventure,and an amazing time for the adults and the four kids! By far the best experience we have ever had. Searching for sand dollars was a new adventure for us, as well as seeing the many dolphins on the way. Fishing was a blast, of which our 21 fish we caught posed for our vacation pictures and then swam back into the water! Our family cannot wait to do this again with "Yacht of Fun" when we come next year for our annual family vacation to St. Augustine. Captain Mike was delightful and informative about St. Augustine and was a pleasure to spend the day with. This is a great adventure for adults and kids. Recommend bringing a camera to capture all the memories! This was such an affordable trip that you could not put a price tag on. What a great time!!

Thank _kmd1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Yacht of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Katie, Thanks very much for taking time to review your day on the boat with me! Every trip is an adventure for me too meeting great new people like you and your family! I'm so glad you had an amazing time because I think you are an amazing Mom! I can't wait until you and the kids come back to visit your Mom and Dad next year! Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a Great day we had. Capt. Mike and Janie guided us on the St. Johns River ALL day long. Laid back, no worries! Stopped at one of the springs and went for a swim. Traveled to many places and saw a great deal of the wild life along the river. Went to the Palms Cafe Bleuu on the River and we had a Great lunch. Their food was the best. Home made pastas, bread, ice cream. Hard to beat. 5 stars to Mike and Janie.

Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Yacht of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks Harry and Jackie! It was a wonderful day for Janie and me too! We really enjoyed showing you the St. Johns River, so different from the South Florida and Bahamian waters you are used to! It was a lot of fun swimming in Silver Glen Springs, and so glad you loved one of our favorite places to stop and eat some great cooking! It really was a perfect day for us too! COME BACK SOON! Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent the day with Captain Mike with the intent of seeing as much of the intercoastal highway as we could. And we did! This is a great value, as you have a personal tour guide on the water (no need to worry about driving the boat yourself} who will take you wherever you want to go, and narrate along the way! He provided us with a cooler of ice, water bottles, and juice boxes. We went all the way south to Hurricane Patty's near Flagler Beach and had the best burgers ever. Then we stopped at the inlet and swam, floated, and dredged for sand dollars and other treasures! It was just a wonderful day that we will always remember. Thanks, Captain! You're the best!

Thank AZHikerJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Yacht of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! I must agree it was a very relaxing ride cruising down the Intracoastal, and I enjoyed having you aboard for the day to see the sights, swim and have lunch with me! I hope to see you again if you come back to this area in the future! Captain Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yacht of Fun also viewed

 

Been to Yacht of Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing