We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs can experience history too”

Dow Museum of Historic Houses
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #91 of 187 things to do in St. Augustine
Attraction details
Irving, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dogs can experience history too”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not only did I enjoy visiting the centuries old furnished homes, but my dog tagged along as well. Not carried but actually walked in the homes with me. Mind you the gift shop employee did ask if the dog was well behaved, because they did not want any accidents. My entire pet group loved this attraction and for those getting married, this place would make a truly romantic location. Also most of the Historic Homes were wheelchair accessible.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take a step back in time”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I went back in history at the Dow museum. Being able to go inside of, read the history, see the architecture and artifacts and feel the atmosphere of these houses that some have been standing for 300 years was an unforgettable experience. I will go back to experience this again.

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent a peasant few hours touring some very old homes. Well behaved leashed dogs are welcome! The antiques were beautiful and well maintained. It was nice to get a glimpse to see how people of the past lived. I would have liked to read more history about the homes, however it was still a nice place to visit. The garden surrounding the homes was quiet and relaxing. Definitely worth seeking out if you like quaint homes and history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Step back into time...”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

These quaint little houses date back to 1790...amazing. The brick pavers are uneven but the courtyards are intriguing and intimate. Take a good look at the carpenter's house as it sits in the middle of all of these homes and is crooked!! Simply adorable...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very interesting & enjoyable”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We loved this tour.. the houses & furnishings were all very well maintained & beautifully preserved..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dreamsofriveriamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dow Museum of Historic Houses also viewed

 

Been to Dow Museum of Historic Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing