We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

The Inn is small but the rooms are very spacious. We stayed on the waterview which was spectacular. Its just a short walk accross the brigde to the old city. The rooms have been renovated and looked very nice. The staff was very nice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 375 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Perfect room and location. Nice service. Disappointed with breakfast options (prepackaged muffins and coffee). Over all the stay was very nice. Pretty pricey for the lack of amenities. Would return for a short stay due to price. Shower also makes it difficult to shower due to small amount of water coming out and cramped area.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Niurka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I pretty much agree with everything in the review previously posted by Jacqui-in-FL from May 14. although some of her concerns have already been rectified in my opinion.

As a walk in customer arriving early evening on a Monday, I was really hoping to get a better price than I did - but when I saw the room, deck and view - I paid what what was being asked!

Travelling from the UK and being a bit of a sucker for mid 20th century culture, I think the owners here are doing a good job at preserving historical interest whilst aiming to satisfy the needs of the the modern demanding traveller. Bear in mind that it is a work in progress that just needs some fine tuning to become pretty perfect.

Room 108 is very nicely re-modelled. Fabulous Bathroom. Great Built in Robe with light. Modern Dresser with concealed full size fridge. Very comfortable King Bed. Nice Side Tables with Beautiful Lamps that provide extra electrical outlets built in - Very useful!

A few extra details for me would be:

>Window dressing detailing to centre and sides of blinds (currently people walking past can see in when blinds are closed)

>A Chair would be nice

>A Full Length Mirror somewhere would be helpful

> Yes a flat screen TV when the current one gives up would Finnish things off I suppose - but really not necessary until then....... think of the planet Guys!

I used the pool on returning from a really hot day exploring the Old Town and found it perfectly clean - in fact the young lady on Reception came straight over when she saw me entering it, to check that everything was fine.

In summary I'll just confirm:

>For a room with a view you really couldn't do better

> Don't miss the Sunset

> If you're visiting St Augustine try going "Unchained" and support this local Business

USE THEM OR LOSE THEM.............. and then it'll be too late

Room Tip: Request a Re-Modelled Room with Deck and River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Moonbeam555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found our room as many others posted, Newly remodeled, comfortable bed, nice view, nice staff and all that. We wanted a nice place we could come and see the fireworks. Husband has bad knee and can't walk a lot. We had a nice stay no problems with the room. What we didn't realize when we rented the room was every room was allowed to have up to 4 unregistered guests come and view the fireworks. So there was several other families on the deck watching the fireworks. Kids running back and forth and then parking themselves in front of us instead with their parents. Afterward someone was putting off firecrackers outside our room until 2AM. Not much sleep. Would stay again if they would change the extra guests policy. $295.90 should be worth more than what we got.

Room Tip: Parking lot is very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeellisrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia W, Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments. The Edgewater Inn is a great place to view the 4th of July fireworks display. We have always allowed paying guests to invite up to four non-paying guests to view the fireworks display. We do have out of town guests that come to visit family that live locally. We will try to stress to guests to not block the view from other guest rooms next year. Regarding the shooting off of fireworks, it is our policy that guests do not shoot off any fireworks from our property including the beach area. These guests were notified of this multiple times. Next year when you come we will have an expanded breakfast and afternoon snacks available for your enjoyment in our new guest lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Renovated rooms were nice, but not worth the price. Only amenities in room: hair dryer, two cup coffee pot, cable TV, Internet never worked. Breakfast: muffins and coffee (after 9am). Staff was GREAT!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, pay the extra and stay in a River Side room... the view and atmosphere was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catskottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed one night in room 106. A newly renovated room. The room itself was nice and clean. The view was exceptional.

The website said there was a free continental breakfast. Well, they are in the process of completing a breakfast room. So the continental breakfast was a packaged muffin. There are little coffee makers in the room. Ours was broken so we called and had a replacement in minutes. The coffee itself was a poor quality.

The service was good. We arrived early so the front desk opened an unbooked room so we could change and use the facilities. Also, after checking out they allowed us to leave our car there so we could go have lunch.

The room was pretty expensive for what you get. If I return to St. Augustine, I would look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Czman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Edgewater for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 106 which is a newly remodeled room. All of the rooms have private (newly private, I believe) porches with rocking chairs that look out onto the river.Very beautiful view of St Augustine and the Bridge of Lions. We even saw some dolphins playing in the river. If going into the old town, you are better off leaving your car at the motel and walking across the bridge into the town. We felt the price was a little high for a motel, but did enjoy our stay. One big negative was the pool. It didn't appear that it gets used often and was quite dirty. There were bugs floating all over and bird poop both IN the pool and all over the deck area.
Overall a decent stay. Maybe will try somewhere in the old town if visiting again.

Room Tip: Go for a remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
700 reviews
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#8 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $129 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing